Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-01-2006, 10:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 83
Send a message via Yahoo to SuperWade2
AquaC Remora Pro Skimmer Install?

OK, I know I'm new to this, but I feel like a total idiot... The seemingly most simple item has already got me stumped.

I picked up a AquaC Remora Pro with Mag3 Pump on Ebay... it arrived today, and I don't have a clue how to "hook" the thing up...

I get the "Hang On Back" part for the Plastic Skimmer Box Part, but what the heck do I do with the Pump? Does it just attach the the end of the little 3" Rubber hose at the mddle of Box (on the inside tank side), and does it matter which direction I have the impeller and prefilter thing pointed?

So the power cable end of the pump is going to be underwater?

Thanks for your patience!
SW2
__________________

__________________
SuperWade2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 11:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
The pump blows water up the tube into the skimmer. you should have some sort of tubing to connect it. That's pretty much it.

Yes, powerheads do have their power cords running into the water. I never really get used to it either.
__________________

__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 12:10 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 83
Send a message via Yahoo to SuperWade2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaiden
The pump blows water up the tube into the skimmer. you should have some sort of tubing to connect it. That's pretty much it.

Yes, powerheads do have their power cords running into the water. I never really get used to it either.
Ok, so I sort of get that, but does the Mag3 Powerhead just "hang" from the Tube running into the skimmer? It didn't come with any suction cups or hooks or anything, although it does have a little base that you can move arround to any of the 4 sides. Just seems that your hanging the somewhat heavy powerhead just "dangling" from a little piece of rubber tube.... just doesn't seem quite right.

SW2
__________________
SuperWade2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 03:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
yep...that's how it goes, but now you get to be inventive and come up with a way to modify it and make it the best it can be. get a good size suction cup and use non-toxic adhesive and glue that badboy to the pump.
__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 10:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 83
Send a message via Yahoo to SuperWade2
I took a couple "dry" pics of what I think this thing is supposed to "look" like... can anyone take a look and confirm that i'm not totally loony?

http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/3216/dsc034143xs.jpg
http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/8568/dsc034135cc.jpg
http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/4071/dsc034157id.jpg

Thanks
SW2
__________________
SuperWade2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 01:18 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Onatrio Canada
Posts: 32
Send a message via MSN to dankent
well I set mine up with the intake/powerhead on one side of the tank and the actual discharge/skimmer at the other end of the tank. I think that you would want the intake to be further away from the discharge or it will be sucking in what it discharges and seems like it wouldnt be too efficient.
__________________
Danno
dankent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 12:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 83
Send a message via Yahoo to SuperWade2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dankent
well I set mine up with the intake/powerhead on one side of the tank and the actual discharge/skimmer at the other end of the tank. I think that you would want the intake to be further away from the discharge or it will be sucking in what it discharges and seems like it wouldnt be too efficient.
That does make more sense, huh...

Did you just set the pump on the bottom of the tank, or "suction cup" to the side. I assume you then just ran a longer tube from the output of the pump to the intake on the skimmer?

Sw2
__________________
SuperWade2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 05:42 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
I rotated my pump 180 degrees vs what you have in that picture to combat the problem just mentioned. You can extend the tube as far as you want as long as you're not creating more head pressure by hanging the skimmer from your ceiling or something.
__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 05:07 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 26
It comes with only one clamp (at least mine did). That is inadequate! Eventually it will slip off the hose if you don't add another clamp to the other end (or glue it as someone else suggested) and you will have a mess of water like I did. Buy a plastic clamp, and you may have to modify it by filing it down to the right size.
__________________
Gesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 05:31 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 83
Send a message via Yahoo to SuperWade2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gesh
It comes with only one clamp (at least mine did). That is inadequate! Eventually it will slip off the hose if you don't add another clamp to the other end (or glue it as someone else suggested) and you will have a mess of water like I did. Buy a plastic clamp, and you may have to modify it by filing it down to the right size.
There were 2 total clamps, one that fit over the Rubber Hose on the skimmer intake side, and one that fit over the hose on the pump output side... are you saying I need 2 of these clamps one of these two ends?

SW2
__________________

__________________
SuperWade2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquac, remora, skimmer, stall

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Needed: AquaC Remora Pro skimmer Clown Monarch Archive 1 09-20-2006 09:37 PM
Can't install my HOB AquaC Remora on my new Seaclear tank bodie General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-23-2006 05:44 PM
AquaC Remora PRO skimmer dwish8990 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 02-22-2005 12:13 AM
Anyone with a Aquac Remora Pro Please help born2chill Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 01-12-2005 10:19 PM
Aquac Remora/pro in UK Shultz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 09-05-2004 05:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.