Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-09-2013, 10:11 PM   #41
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post
In updating this thread a bit...

So it seems no matter which way I push the little "control nub" atop my AC 110, the flow doesn't change all that much; I know it's been suggested that perhaps my u-tube isn't seated correctly and all the way down into the housing and that I am in the definite minority in terms of owners who can see a clear difference between minimum and maximum output settings on their filters, but I checked the positioning of the tube and all related elements, and it's definitely in there good and right -- and, I definitely do NOT see the flow go from an aggressive ripple wave across the surface of the water on the MAXIMUM setting to a "dribble" on the MINIMUM setting...on my particular 110 model, putting the flow control on its lowest flow setting, all the way to the right, the flow doesn't slow all that much...perhaps just a tad...but this is still creating a ton of current on that side of the tank...

Is there anything short of creating a baffle for this filter's output that I could try? Does anyone else that maybe owns an AquaClear experience this "no change in output" phenomenon with their filter(s)? Should I try a prefilter on the intake strainer?
Hmm...that is odd that you do not see a change in flow. I had to replace the u shaped intake tube for an AC50 and the LFS sold me something that should have gone on a smaller model (AC20). Barely fit and saw no real difference in the water flow. Ordered the right piece and now it functions like it should.
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:13 PM   #42
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Add some poly fill, that should slow it down. Just be cautious of it and make sure you change it out before it gets too dirty.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:13 PM   #43
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post
In updating this thread a bit...

So it seems no matter which way I push the little "control nub" atop my AC 110, the flow doesn't change all that much; I know it's been suggested that perhaps my u-tube isn't seated correctly and all the way down into the housing and that I am in the definite minority in terms of owners who can see a clear difference between minimum and maximum output settings on their filters, but I checked the positioning of the tube and all related elements, and it's definitely in there good and right -- and, I definitely do NOT see the flow go from an aggressive ripple wave across the surface of the water on the MAXIMUM setting to a "dribble" on the MINIMUM setting...on my particular 110 model, putting the flow control on its lowest flow setting, all the way to the right, the flow doesn't slow all that much...perhaps just a tad...but this is still creating a ton of current on that side of the tank...

Is there anything short of creating a baffle for this filter's output that I could try? Does anyone else that maybe owns an AquaClear experience this "no change in output" phenomenon with their filter(s)? Should I try a prefilter on the intake strainer?
Oh, I have heard of folks using floss pads or sponges and to buffer the flow. Output is the same just not directed in the same direction.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:22 PM   #44
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
Hmm...that is odd that you do not see a change in flow.
I know it's odd; but on the other hand, I have read that there are owners out there who have indeed experienced this as well...that the flow doesn't change all that much when switching the little knob from left to right...

The flow may change a little -- but it definitely does not come out like a "trickle" as many people here have reported...

Quote:
I had to replace the u shaped intake tube for an AC50 and the LFS sold me something that should have gone on a smaller model (AC20). Barely fit and saw no real difference in the water flow. Ordered the right piece and now it functions like it should.
But this is the same U-shaped tube that came originally out of the box when I bought the 110...
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:23 PM   #45
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
Add some poly fill, that should slow it down. Just be cautious of it and make sure you change it out before it gets too dirty.
But you're not of the opinion that it should run at the LOWEST flow setting, correct?

What if I stuffed two pouches of Purigen in there?
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:41 PM   #46
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post

But you're not of the opinion that it should run at the LOWEST flow setting, correct?

What if I stuffed two pouches of Purigen in there?
My opinion as you know and after calling the company is.... Either setting your still getting great filtration no matter what.

I agree that there is little change if any. I leave it on high and that's it. Adding 2 bags of purigen I doubt will do anything as I have 2 pouches in one AC110 now and see no change. Mine are like the rapids.

Try the poly fill....
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 11:14 PM   #47
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
My opinion as you know and after calling the company is.... Either setting your still getting great filtration no matter what.

I agree that there is little change if any. I leave it on high and that's it. Adding 2 bags of purigen I doubt will do anything as I have 2 pouches in one AC110 now and see no change. Mine are like the rapids.

Try the poly fill....
Well, as has been discussed already, your Chichlids more than likely enjoy the strong current being put out by the 110s at full throttle; my goldfish are another story and are a concern for me. I will consider the pollyfill -- and, I have dispatched another email to Seachem regarding the positioning of the Purigen packets, so when I hear back from them I will report to you their sentiments and/or opinions...
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 11:15 PM   #48
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
Hmm...that is odd that you do not see a change in flow.
It seems Convict, too, sees no real considerable difference between the MAX and MIN settings on these HOBs; see his comments to me above this post...
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 11:20 PM   #49
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post

It seems Convict, too, sees no real considerable difference between the MAX and MIN settings on these HOBs; see his comments to me above this post...
Honestly I gotta say its pretty impossible to see the difference. Now the Fluval C4 is a different story.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 11:25 PM   #50
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
Honestly I gotta say its pretty impossible to see the difference. Now the Fluval C4 is a different story.
The Fluval C4 is a HOB power filter? It's the one with the red inserts within the media basket, right? If so, I've seen a guy on YouTube running these on a goldfish tank with one fancy in it -- those things put out some nice current too...but where do you have the Fluval...is that on your Chichlid tank with the 110s?
__________________

__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear, control, flow, question, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.