Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-30-2011, 06:54 PM   #11
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillD View Post
A second sponge insert will double the mechanical ability and increase the biological capability. In addition you can add a layer of floss between the two inserts for polishing. Carbon doesn't actually polish the water. The term refers to the removal of extremely fine particles. Prior to the renaming of the AC line, the sponges were the bio media. Actually they still are, even with the bio rings.
So, should two sponges be more effective than if I did a second bag of bio-rings in terms of cleaning the water? I realize you said carbon doesn't actually polish the water, and that's good to know, but I don't plan on putting carbon back into the AC anyway (I have carbon cartridges in my Aqueon filter, and plan to keep the Purigen in place for polishing)...

Do you recommend just leaving the one sponge and keeping the Purigen between the sponge and bio-rings, or should I get some more Hagen media such as an additional sponge or sack with ceramic bio max? How often does the sponge need replacing -- never? Just keep rinsing it, as everyone says? Same with the rings?

Quote:
While your parameters may be perfect, because of the Purigen, there are other compounds in the water that are better removed and not tested for. Thus the need to do water changes.
I don't claim my parameters are perfect -- even with the Purigen, as I did a test a couple of weeks ago or so, the numbers still weren't perfect. I just wanted to point out to the other member that other Purigen users have reported zero bad readings across the board when they have put this stuff in their filters, and that there are many who feel this product allows them to cut down tremendously on changes.
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:39 AM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
The sponge will need replacing when it starts to disintegrate. If there is room you can use 2 sponges, bio rings and purigen. If there isn't room, leave out the second sponge and try a layer of quilt batting above the sponge.
__________________

__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 12:30 AM   #13
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Thanks very much, Bill.

You don't think I need a second bag of ceramic rings?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 12:38 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillD
The sponge will need replacing when it starts to disintegrate. If there is room you can use 2 sponges, bio rings and purigen. If there isn't room, leave out the second sponge and try a layer of quilt batting above the sponge.
+1

Sponge on bottom, wad of Ploy-fil in the middle and bio-media on top. Works like a dream for me and when the poly gets clogged with fine partices I toss and replace it, others get a rinse from time to time.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 12:47 AM   #15
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Limpet View Post
+1

Sponge on bottom, wad of Ploy-fil in the middle and bio-media on top. Works like a dream for me and when the poly gets clogged with fine partices I toss and replace it, others get a rinse from time to time.
Thanks Limpet -- okay, so for my situation, I could keep the layering like this:

BOTTOM: Sponge Block
MIDDLE: Bags of Purigen
TOP: Sack of Ceramic Bio Max "Noodles"


...and simply replace the Purigen when it gets exhausted, and then just rinse the rings and sponge from time to time?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 12:55 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osage_Winter

Thanks Limpet -- okay, so for my situation, I could keep the layering like this:

BOTTOM: Sponge Block
MIDDLE: Bags of Purigen
TOP: Sack of Ceramic Bio Max "Noodles"

...and simply replace the Purigen when it gets exhausted, and then just rinse the rings and sponge from time to time?
Sounds like a good setup, although I've never used Purigen. Can it be recharged? I have a couple bagged chems I use once in awhile and they're rechargeable with aqua salt.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 12:57 AM   #17
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Limpet View Post
Sounds like a good setup, although I've never used Purigen. Can it be recharged? I have a couple bagged chems I use once in awhile and they're rechargeable with aqua salt.
Yes, the Purigen can be recharged, but the prepackaged 100ml bags are cheap enough to keep replacing in my opinion...

Amazon.com: Purigen 100 Milliliter: Kitchen & Dining
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 01:18 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
The bio rings are good, but the second sponge will do pretty much the same job plus add more mechanical filtration. it depends how much space you have in there. With my older ACs I use plastic pot scrubbers for the third layer, with 2 sponges.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 07:47 PM   #19
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillD View Post
The bio rings are good, but the second sponge will do pretty much the same job plus add more mechanical filtration. it depends how much space you have in there. With my older ACs I use plastic pot scrubbers for the third layer, with 2 sponges.
So are you saying additional sacks of rings are necessary -- beyond the single stock configuration supplied by Hagen in the box?

More "mechanical filtration" means more particles to be trapped, yes? If so, isn't this the same as, or similar to, "polishing" the water?
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear, maintenance, media

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will changing your media make you "un cycle"? Tasha Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 04-18-2011 01:05 PM
"Maintenance free" ideas SnailPowered DIY Projects 56 05-23-2010 11:09 PM
My turn - RedNeck Dave's 110 gallon "Tank Makeover"ld. asudavew DIY Projects 34 05-22-2009 10:22 AM
I love my new Aquaclear 110! Media basket loading Question? YuccaPatrol General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 02-09-2006 02:58 AM
Aquaclear 300; "Real" capacity? teamgs General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 06-22-2005 12:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.