Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-06-2012, 02:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Pa
Posts: 25
Lightbulb Aquaclear 110 power outage issue...

Setting up a new tank, new to the aquarium world.

Have a 45 gallon, running the aquaclear 110. We had a power failure the other day thanks to a squirrel. This actually happens more frequently than I'm comfortable with.

When the power goes out, the filter empties back into the aquarium requiring re-priming (manual filling, ect) prior to re-starting.

Knowing that we have frequent power outages, is there some sort of backflow preventer I can add to the siphon tube to address this issue should it occur when I'm not home?

Or should I be looking into a battery back up system?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
jeep_n_hog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 07:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
I have several AC 110's, 70's and 20's. I have only had to prime them after water changes.

I routinely turn my filters off during feedings. I forgot to turn on back one today for 2-3 hours. I did not have to re-prime it.

How long of a power outage does it take for it to drain?
__________________

__________________
13 tanks for a total of 755 gallons.
spkehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Pa
Posts: 25
If it takes more than a few minutes, I'd be surprised. Thought maybe I missed something during assembly, so I took it apart and started over. Same results when power is shut off.
__________________
jeep_n_hog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 12:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Race2d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 129
It shouldnt drain back in the tank if your water level is normal mine just empties the tube but always restarts its self as long as water level is correct
__________________
Race2d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 12:54 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cumberland, MD
Posts: 2,444
Why is the water level in the tank so much lower than in the filter?
__________________
toddnbecka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 12:56 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Race2d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 129
Well like if i am doing water change or something and the water level is lower then normal the filter can't get the water really going but if water level is where its suppose to be it really primes itself fine
__________________
Race2d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:10 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Alkane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 264
I agree to get you water level up as high as you can.

There should be a little piece of plastic on the bottom of the outside of your filter try adjusting it. It may help... may not, but it's worth a try if you haven't already.
__________________
Alkane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 07:56 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Pa
Posts: 25
I have added water to the tank since the power outage. Didn't even consider that the water level might affect the backflow, but I should have. I'll unplug it this morning and see what happens.

Slightly different topic...Where should the bottom of the siphon tube be in relation to the bottom of the tank? Mine is a good 8 inches or so off the bottom. Is that ok?
__________________
jeep_n_hog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 09:10 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
While 8 inches from the bottom is fine and may in fact be better if you are using sand, my personal preference is to have it closer.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 10:25 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Pton46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeep_n_hog View Post
Setting up a new tank, new to the aquarium world.

Have a 45 gallon, running the aquaclear 110. We had a power failure the other day thanks to a squirrel. This actually happens more frequently than I'm comfortable with.

When the power goes out, the filter empties back into the aquarium requiring re-priming (manual filling, ect) prior to re-starting.

Knowing that we have frequent power outages, is there some sort of backflow preventer I can add to the siphon tube to address this issue should it occur when I'm not home?

Or should I be looking into a battery back up system?

Thanks.
Maybe some underground Conduit...or a Airsoft gun?
__________________

__________________
60 gallon(Parrots and Convicts) 55 gallon African Cichlids 5 gallon Betta tank 35 Gallon Hex (Bolivian Rams, Oto cats, Bloodfin Tetra and a shoal of Tiger Barbs) 75 Gallon Oscar Condo. 30 gallon GBRs & Danios
Pton46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear, power outage

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aquaclear filter... replace or clean the filters? please help yankeeslover General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 03-08-2012 01:36 PM
aquaclear filter...replace carbon with foam or biomax?? which is better? yankeeslover Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 03-06-2012 04:00 PM
Power head circulation mikewest Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 03-05-2012 03:10 PM
Submersible power heads/air pumps M Riley Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 03-04-2012 03:42 AM
Power head or wave maker joshpwolf Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 03-03-2012 04:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.