Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-29-2012, 12:42 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,017
aquaclear

just ordered an aquaclear 50 on amazon for only $25!
the shipping was free so i saved $6 on that, and i bought it on amazon for 56 percent off of list price. ::score!
on my 40 gallon tank i have a total of 225 gph filtration, and one of my filters is a large in tank whisper 20i. this filter takes up tons of tank space
the aquaclear alone is 200 gph, and my aquaeon filter is 100 gph, so 300 gph sound pretty good to me atm i have a bunch of little particles, and i was hoping this filter would eliminate this.
the filter is 7 in by 4 in by 6.5 in.
does the 4 in mean that it is 4 inches wide? if so i may have to take some water out of my tank, and move it forward.
it would be awesome if i could get some feedback from some aquaclear owners
thanks
__________________

__________________
gman42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 12:45 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
I have an AC 50 and an AC 70. And i LOVE them. The 50 is on my 40 gallon an it does a good job, but i would recommend another filter as a side-kick.

If they stop running, just take them off and mess with the intake/propellor (sp?). They should work then!
__________________

__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 12:45 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
yes 4 wide.
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 01:15 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,017
okay im going to run my aquaclear 10 which does 100 gph, and is a great filter. how are the 50's noise wise?
__________________
gman42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 02:20 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by gman42
okay im going to run my aquaclear 10 which does 100 gph, and is a great filter. how are the 50's noise wise?
All i hear is the splashing of the outtake. Thats it
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 02:24 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
I saw that deal! I wanted to get some SOOO bad but I can't

Let me say this-I have two filters, the Marineland that makes a bit of noise and the AquaClear. Whenever I unplug the Marineland, I don't hear anything. That, my friend, is how quiet AquaClears are.
__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 02:26 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruinsbro1997
I saw that deal! I wanted to get some SOOO bad but I can't

Let me say this-I have two filters, the Marineland that makes a bit of noise and the AquaClear. Whenever I unplug the Marineland, I don't hear anything. That, my friend, is how quiet AquaClears are.
I have the exact same thing on my 40..sometimes you creep me out bruins...lol! Jk

I totally agree, silent as can be.
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 02:32 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gboy66 View Post
I have the exact same thing on my 40..sometimes you creep me out bruins...lol! Jk

I totally agree, silent as can be.
You creep me out...how did you get the exact same thing as me..

The only thing to be careful of is when you clean it and put it back again. You need to fill it up with water. If you have it run dry, you could fry the impeller and it would be rendered useless, which isn't fun. Also, some people complain they hear it vibrating/rattling. I have never had this happen, but it could be because the AC is rubbing against something or in an awkward position.

JMO.
__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 08:44 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,017
okay thanks, im so excited! i should get it in 5-8 business days, but its free shippping.
__________________

__________________
gman42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cleaning your filter - aquaclear 110 HeatherW Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 04-14-2013 04:02 AM
AquaClear media Rebate carey General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 04-15-2012 01:19 PM
aquaclear 110 + emperor 400 Cornstar General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-29-2012 12:05 PM
New AquaClear 50!! lbannie General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 02-17-2012 01:16 AM
Aquaclear 110 on a 25 gallon?> Alkane Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 02-13-2012 02:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.