Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-18-2006, 06:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 468
AquaClear 20 problem

So I just bought a Aqua Clear 20 for my 10gallon to replace my old Whisper I had there. I have a AC 50 for my 30 and it runs great but the 20 seems to have a slight rattle in the impeller. Im going to let it run over night to see if it works it self out but I was wondering has anyone ever experienced this?
__________________

__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 07:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Is the tube pushed down all the way? That is a common problem, not pushing the tube down completly.
__________________

__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 07:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: chicago ridge, illinois
Posts: 808
Send a message via AIM to nitrous Send a message via MSN to nitrous
i had this too, mine was minute but still didnt like it so once i took off the cover it stopped. from there on i just leave it off
__________________
20 gal-plants and 2 red zebra chiclids
15 gal- shark tank
36 gal-3 yellow labs 3 red zebra 1 jewel/plants
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 07:25 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 468
I pushed the tube down as hard as I can and tried removing the cover but the rattling seems to be down by the motor. I also just noticed an airspace in the pipe right above the impeller right under neath the flow control. I checked on ym AC50 and even on low there is no airspace. I think that airspace is creating a vortex in the pipe cause int impeller to wobble and make the noise, any suggestions on how to get rid of it?
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 07:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Take it apart and put it back together. Something could be loose, such as the impellar.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 07:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 468
Well tried that and fixed the air pocket, no go still rattles. Im just going to send it back and get it replaced. I htink the impeller isnt properly balanced.
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 09:05 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
Definately return it if it is new. No reason to mess with it any more than you have already since you just got it.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 12:10 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 468
Im not bothering with it till next week. Its a bummer that its not working right, I really like my AC 50 and was hoping to have another AC for my 10gal Betta, Neon Tetra tank.
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 01:37 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Are you sure it's the impeller? I know you probably already checked this, but every time my ACs were noisy I found that it was the lid vibrating, and not anything about the filter itself. Does it still make noise when you remove the lid?
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 10:53 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 468
Yupper the noise is coming right from where the motor meets the filter box so it has to be the impeller.
__________________

__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear 30 or 50? new2betas Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 37 09-12-2008 05:52 AM
Aquaclear 50 black hills tj Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 04-16-2007 01:03 PM
AquaClear 70 AquaJoe General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 23 10-29-2005 09:49 AM
Aquaclear on the way! fish_4_all Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 09-12-2005 08:51 PM
AquaClear 200 Problem AuquaMan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 17 11-02-2003 01:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.