Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-12-2005, 12:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Acer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 549
Send a message via Yahoo to Acer
aquaclear 300

does anyone have any idea what size tank the aquaclear 300 is for?
__________________

__________________
Acer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 12:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Triad, North Carolina
Posts: 587
Up to 70 gals.

Dave
__________________

__________________
10 gal planted with 1 male betta. Mostly anacharis.
29 gal planted community 1.9 wpg
90 gal planted community 2.9 wpg
Xzap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 01:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Acer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 549
Send a message via Yahoo to Acer
ok thank you..
__________________
Acer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 01:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Well, that is the manufacturer's rating, but you can't really count on that for HOBs IMO. It would be different if the rating were for a canister, but for HOBs I like to turn the water over about 10x/hour. I use the AC 300 on my 29 gallon tank and I really like it, but I would probably feel ok about using it on tanks up to 50 gallons. JMO
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 01:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Acer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 549
Send a message via Yahoo to Acer
yah the reason i was asking was because i wanted to set up my 55 already and was thinking about using the AquaClear 300 i have on my 29 for the 55.. i know it'll look goofy but i was thinking of running that with the filter from my established 10 gal i took down recently, it has been running since i took it down in the 29 gal.
__________________
Acer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 01:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Triad, North Carolina
Posts: 587
I run 2 tanks with AC HOB and Fluval canisters.
It gives me 1 filter still running if one breaks down plus I can clean them alternately.

Thx,

dave
__________________
10 gal planted with 1 male betta. Mostly anacharis.
29 gal planted community 1.9 wpg
90 gal planted community 2.9 wpg
Xzap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 01:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 24
the 300 works awesome on a 55gal. Its what we had on our first setup and it worked like a charm. On our newer setup we have a biowheel and I hate it. The aquaclear was MUCH better and even after an intense cleaning would have the water sparkling clear in an hour or two. I highly recommend them.
__________________
Tara
marliah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 07:51 PM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I believe the 300 is for 40-70 gal tanks.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 08:05 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jrp1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,875
Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
Running a canister and a HOB? What kinda turnover do you get Xzap? I may just do that one of these days when i get a canister.
__________________
jrp1588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 08:24 PM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have an aquaclear 70.. used to be aquaclear 300 right, but i use it on my 55 gallon and i really don't think its adequate... i want to get another one.. LOL.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear 300 h.o.b. w/ media Sicklid Archive 1 04-02-2009 05:54 PM
Aquaclear 300 HOB just died, what next? Joey2619 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-01-2007 08:48 PM
AquaClear 300 GouramiFanatic General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 04-05-2005 01:52 AM
Aquaclear 300 fuge on a 33 gallon?? Worthwhile? vertex Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 03-12-2005 05:36 PM
Aquaclear 300 filters degbowl General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 08-22-2004 11:42 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.