Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-05-2004, 07:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 352
Send a message via AIM to degbowl
Aquaclear 300 filters

I have 2 aquaclear 300 filters. One on each tank that I own. When I use the foam filter blocks that are made for the filter everything is ok. I purchased a large bag of filter fiber to use instead to try to save some money. The filter works ok in the beginning but eventually the piece of the filter that holds the filter fiber and carbon rises up and pushes the filter cover up on one side. I have to push it down then it comes back up in a few minutes. Sometimes it effects the intake tube and I don't get the right flow of water coming in. Does anyone know what is happening and what I can do about it? I might just have to buy the foam blocks made for the filter. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!
Jim
__________________

__________________
degbowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2004, 07:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: maine
Posts: 1,975
The media is coming up because it is clogged. Replace the filter floss. You only need a very thin layer of it to work well. In both of my Aquaclears, I use half a foam bloack, then a layer of floss, then a full foam block to hold the floss in place. If I am use carbon, that goes on top of the foam block.
__________________

__________________
*26 freshwater*
2x Sunburst Platys (2M, 2F) // 3x Neon Tetras (?) // 2x Cherry Barbs (1M, 1F) // 2x YoYo Loaches (?) // 1x Bushy Nose Pleco (M) // 1x Clown Pleco (?) //

*15H marine*
-30# Live Rock
-Mixed Snails (Nassarius // Cerith // Astrea // Black Turbo // Mexican Turbo)
-8x Blue Leg Hermit Crabs // 1x Banded Serpent Star // 1x Cleaner Shrimp
-1x Royal Gramma // 1x Percula Clownfish
-2x Mushroom Leather // Metallic Green Star Polyps // Pulsing Xenia // Striped Xenia // Blue Mushroom
-Remora + Maxi-Jet 1200 // 2x Maxi-Jet 600 // Maxi-Jet 400 // Visi-Therm Deluxe 50 // Current USA Orbit 2x 40w PC
grimlock3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2004, 07:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 108
You can just rinse out the filter blocks and keep recycling them, you should ony need to replace them when they literally start to disintegrate. I hear that takes years. On my Aquacears when the media basket starts to slip up on one side and push up the cover I take it as a sign that it's time to clean the box. The sides get slimy after a while. When I clean it out the media basket stays put again.
__________________
Phlegethon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2004, 07:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 108
Grimlock - how much floss is enough? I just started running floss and put a layer in there of about 1 inch. Too much? Here's what I put in my ACs:

1" Hagen pre-filter media
Foam block
1" Floss
1/4-1/2" layer of crushed coral (my water is really soft)

I'd be curious to know what other recipes people use...
__________________
Phlegethon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2004, 08:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 352
Send a message via AIM to degbowl
Thanks for the replies. I will have to buy some foam blocks and keep recycling them. For now I will try to clean out the inside of the filter and I think I have to use less floss. I put carbon bag and a bag that is supposed to take out nitrates on top of that. I really appreciate the advice. I would to hear about what other people put in their aquaclear filters.
__________________
degbowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:07 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Florida - USA
Posts: 59
I have used A/C filters for many years. I never use anything but the foam blocks in them. The blocks hardly need replacements at all. The oldest one I have (a 200) has been running with the same blocks for about 5 years now (my best guess). I just rinse them out weekly in old tank water when I do my pwc. There's no need to clean out the boxes nearly that often.
Another good thing about the blocks is that they are great for seeding new tanks.
__________________
tropicalman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 05:45 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 352
Send a message via AIM to degbowl
I am going to buy the blocks and reuse them. One of my filters is starting to make a rattling noise. I'm guessing the impeller. Do you think if I replace the impeller that it might help?
__________________
degbowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 06:00 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 108
I can never get my Aquaclears to be totally silent. In my experience they are noisier after a good cleaning and when they are brand new. They seem to "settle down" after a bit of un-interrupted operation. The only silent filter I've encountered are internal, but that's a host of other problems.
__________________
Phlegethon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 08:28 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 280
They also sell those ceramic noodle thingies to act as increased biological filter area. They come in a nylon mesh bag. I got some so I could really wash out my foam block good under tap water and not have to worry about killing off all my bacteria.
__________________
savga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 08:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 352
Send a message via AIM to degbowl
I have some ceramic noodles. I would just have to put them in a media bag. I will try that. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
degbowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear, filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear 70/300 vs MarineLand 400 pro cterzich Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 11-12-2009 02:16 PM
Aquaclear 300 h.o.b. w/ media Sicklid Archive 1 04-02-2009 05:54 PM
Aquaclear 300 HOB just died, what next? Joey2619 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-01-2007 08:48 PM
aquaclear 300 Acer General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 10-13-2005 07:17 PM
AquaClear 300 GouramiFanatic General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 04-05-2005 01:52 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.