Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-02-2011, 01:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
Aquaclear 50 filter

I get big and micro bubbles from my new Aquaclear 50 filter, when it returns the water it makes the bubbles. I lower the flow down but still, my power head picks the bubbles up and send them in a big circle. What can I do?
__________________

__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 01:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by superdave07
I get big and micro bubbles from my new Aquaclear 50 filter, when it returns the water it makes the bubbles. I lower the flow down but still, my power head picks the bubbles up and send them in a big circle. What can I do?
Did you clean it good in hot tap water (no soap) and rinse the media out in cold tap water before putting it in service? My AC50 might put a few out, but nothing noticeable. Also, I'd suggest saving the carbon pack and put some poly-fil in where the carbon would go.
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 01:40 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
I didn't do that
__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 01:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
It seems that the flow drops the water about half ways in the tank then the power heads picks up the bubbles
__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 01:53 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by superdave07
It seems that the flow drops the water about half ways in the tank then the power heads picks up the bubbles
Try reloacting you PH for a bit and see if it clears up the issue is my best suggestion without knowing more about the setup.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 01:58 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Limpet

Try reloacting you PH for a bit and see if it clears up the issue is my best suggestion without knowing more about the setup.
I tried that
__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 02:05 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by superdave07

I tried that
Did you try turning the PH off for an hour or so and see if that made a difference?

Can you post info on the setup too?
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 02:21 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
You help me before I have the wall mounted 20g the to 750 ph
__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 02:23 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
Pic
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1316335544.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	41.7 KB
ID:	42344   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-742305581.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	60.0 KB
ID:	42345  

__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 02:26 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by superdave07
You help me before I have the wall mounted 20g the to 750 ph
Oh the SW in the picture frame tank? That could be a tricky fix since your tank is only 4" wide. I'm not salty, so my assistance will be limited, sorry.

Is the filter and PH at oppisite ends of the tank? Can't you direct the PH output so its not going straight at the AC50?
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, aquaclear 50, clear, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sponge filter? Rinzy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 34 07-09-2011 03:25 PM
Whisper 5 Filter donh Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 06-29-2011 01:30 AM
canister filter? madcurlyq Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 06-27-2011 12:25 AM
Aquaclear 50 filter cleaning Ant329 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 06-25-2011 10:45 AM
filter cleaning question mollymama Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 06-24-2011 03:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.