Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-13-2014, 01:28 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SW Suburban Chicago, IL
Posts: 203
I had similar flow issues with an AC20 and an AC30. Both had the Fluval Edge sponges over the intakes. Removing the sponges solved the flow issues. I also serviced the impellers at the same time, but I noticed that my sponges were hourglass shaped at the end. They clogged up in about 6 weeks to the point of seriously reducing the filter flow. I'm glad to hear the tip about boiling them to clean them out. I'll try that when i replace the sponges, the intakes are running naked at the moment.
__________________

__________________
jglover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 03:00 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Autumnsky's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 10,340
Yup. the little Edge pre filters can clog seriously, and just the little rinse out in old bucket water wont work.

My 12G Edge tank was at trickle, so I rinsed and it seemed fine, then I gave it a solid squeeze and it was brownish and it continued for minutes of rinsing in the tub faucet, I couldn't believe how much crap came out and kept coming out.

Every 2 weeks I rinse it, but never blast it with water straight out of the tap, but wow did it ever need a big cleaning. Water was blasting out of there after it was put back on!!!

Today I bought a few new prefilter sponges on clearance at Petco. And the weird chimney brush looking thing as well for the tubes.
__________________

__________________

New to FW fish? First tank in a long time or EVER??? Need some info on keeping fish?
Start here - Aquarium Advice Article https://www.aquariumadvice.com/guide...ater-aquarium/

Community Rules
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...ork&page=rules

FW & SW
Favorite tank right now -12G PRL Shrimp
Autumnsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 03:38 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 498
You can get a 3 pack of those Edge prefilters on Amazon practically for free. I figure when it's too far gone that it won't rinse clean anymore, why go through the effort? Just pop a new one on.
__________________

__________________
RightTurnClyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquac, aquaclear, aquaclear 50, clear, flow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swap: aquaclear 110 and aquaclear 70 capecodaquarium Archive 20 05-26-2012 05:12 PM
Aquaclear flow problem Rinzy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-22-2012 04:47 PM
A Quick Query Regarding the AquaClear 110's Flow Control... Osage_Winter General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 03-01-2011 09:26 PM
Flow Flow Flow davebailey46 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 01-18-2006 11:36 PM
Aquaclear HOB: Water flow adjustment... Protege Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 10-30-2005 11:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.