Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-27-2011, 12:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Aspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 698
Aquaclear 50 making noise

My filter is making noise so I took it apart, rinsed out the impeller and motor and it still makes noise on an off...sort of a whinning vibrating noise then stops and runs but still a little noisy....it is pretty new, less than 3 months old.

Any know a fix?
__________________

__________________
55g planted in pots H. sf Crossbar Yala Swamp
Aspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 01:05 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
The actual filter stops or the noise? You may need a new impeller. How does it look? Worn/scratches on it?
__________________

__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 01:17 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
It will still be under warranty. The impeller could be worn or the shaft it runs on.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 01:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Aspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by meegosh View Post
The actual filter stops or the noise? You may need a new impeller. How does it look? Worn/scratches on it?
It starts make dull screaching noise off and on with a constant rattling noise but continues to work.

It makes sense I might need a new impeller...I have a 20g with sand and the sand gets into the filter...
__________________
55g planted in pots H. sf Crossbar Yala Swamp
Aspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 01:23 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
If the sand is getting into the filter, than that is the source of the problem. you will need to add a piece of sponge over the intake to prevent the intake of sand. An AC insert works well for this. However, you may have to take steps to repair any damage done to this point
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, aquaclear 50, clear, noise

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making sure im doing maintenance on my tank right Goldfish lover Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 07-16-2011 11:14 PM
Red Gourami making nest? JimmyA Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 6 07-07-2011 06:46 PM
Making wood soup... Gnarls Gnarlington Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-06-2011 01:46 PM
i have a 20 gallon i plan on maybe making saltwater any advice? allaboutfish Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 52 07-04-2011 01:42 AM
Aquaclear 50 filter superdave07 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 07-02-2011 02:34 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.