Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-01-2015, 09:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mar23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 410
AquaClear 50. Need urgent help!

I don't know what happened to my brand new filter. I have two AC 50 HOB filters on my 60 gallon tank. I have them plugged into a power strip. I turned the power strip off to do a water change, changed the water, refilled the tank, and when I switched the power back on, one of the filters did not start. I always have to pour water into them to jump start them, but this time it just didn't even start. The filter is 1 week old and I'm leaving on vacation in two days. Is this fixable? Is the motor burned? If I did something wrong, I need to know how to avoid this next time. Please, help. Thank you.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Mar23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 09:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,259
Try cleaning the impellar.Or just spinning it.
I have aq hobs over 10 years old and new ones.
__________________

__________________
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 09:32 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Woodstock,Ga
Posts: 201
Hello Mar23,
I have a Fluval C4 that is the update to the ACs , It is only a couple of months old but it has done the same thing twice after water changes . I just take out the lift tube and use a bamboo skewer or something similar and nudge the impeller and it takes off and runs fine. Try it and see if it works . I guess I should have returned it , but I got it online and didn't bother . It has a year warranty so if it keeps it up I will send it back .
__________________
We are meant to be the stewards of the Earth and her creatures....not the masters.
Leeatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 09:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mar23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 410
AquaClear 50. Need urgent help!

It WORKED!!! You guys are awesome! Thank you!
Edit: To keep this from happening again, can I leave the filters running during water changes as long as the water level doesn't go below the intake (tip of the tube)?

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Mar23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 10:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Woodstock,Ga
Posts: 201
Glad it worked . I wouldn't leave them running because they will lose the prime even if you don't go below the end of the tube . I am going to email Fluval right now and see if I can get an answer to this problem . Will let you know if I find out anything.
__________________
We are meant to be the stewards of the Earth and her creatures....not the masters.
Leeatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 10:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mar23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 410
Thanks!


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Mar23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 10:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
I actually had this happen on a brand new Aquaclear one time. Just mysteriously stopped and never could get it working. Think it was defective from the store. It lasted 1 day and stopped.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 10:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 551
Just clean the filter at least one every 2 weeks, so you can rotate clean them.

Clean them with a complete disassembly.
__________________

__________________
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquac, aquaclear, aquaclear 50, clear, urgent

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Urgent! Urgent! Help!!!! FishBoy185 Cichlid Discussion 7 01-16-2014 06:10 PM
Swap: aquaclear 110 and aquaclear 70 capecodaquarium Archive 20 05-26-2012 05:12 PM
**URGENT** Water Temperature **URGENT** TennisWildcat95 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 11-02-2010 05:36 PM
URGENT!!! NEED HELP FAST!!! BETTA WITH FUNGUS aquarist15 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 5 01-12-2006 09:35 PM
Killifish has an enlarged, red rimmed eye - NEED URGENT HELP 99RedSi Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 1 11-28-2005 12:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.