Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-22-2011, 10:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Priest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 92
AquaClear 50 Replacement

When I bought a 30 gallon tank from my cousin, he also gave me an AquaClear 50. The problem is that he didn't give it to me with any media so I have to buy it but they are four different things for this filter and can only accept 3 things. This filter has the Ammonia Remover which goes in the middle, the BioMax which goes on top, the Carbon which goes in the middle and the Foam which goes on the bottom. Now as you can see they are two middles so I am confused on which one I should get or am I suppose to use two in the middle. Help me with this because I am confused and don't want to buy something tomorrow that I will not use. Thank you.
__________________

__________________
Priest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 11:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Priest
When I bought a 30 gallon tank from my cousin, he also gave me an AquaClear 50. The problem is that he didn't give it to me with any media so I have to buy it but they are four different things for this filter and can only accept 3 things. This filter has the Ammonia Remover which goes in the middle, the BioMax which goes on top, the Carbon which goes in the middle and the Foam which goes on the bottom. Now as you can see they are two middles so I am confused on which one I should get or am I suppose to use two in the middle. Help me with this because I am confused and don't want to buy something tomorrow that I will not use. Thank you.
Not familiar with that filter exactly but with most filters you can make your own media. If you want to buy it don't get the ammonia remover, that's what your beneficial bacteria are for. You definitely want the sponge and some form of bio media (stuff that makes a good home for BB (even though they live in the sponge anyway)). IMO carbon isn't needed, only to remove meds after use. When looking at media, I would recommend getting stuff that will last/not fall apart because you don't throw it out when it gets dirty. You just need to rinse it in tank water in a bucket during water changes.
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 11:47 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
Use one or two sponges and one Biomax. That is all you need. The sponges last for many years and the Biomax pretty much for ever.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 11:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Priest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 92
So I don't use the ammonia remover or the carbon remover, I understand not using the ammonia but what about the carbon. I am using a second filter (Aqueon Quiet Flow 20) and that is using a carbon filter, so I shouldn't use it on that filter as well?
__________________
Priest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 12:04 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Priest
So I don't use the ammonia remover or the carbon remover, I understand not using the ammonia but what about the carbon. I am using a second filter (Aqueon Quiet Flow 20) and that is using a carbon filter, so I shouldn't use it on that filter as well?
It really is a personal choice with the carbon. Some say you don't need it (like me) others say it's a must. Some believe it soaks up all the chemicals then, when it reaches the end of it's use, can release them back into the tank. Others believe it becomes inert and then becomes bio media. But one thing that is agreed on is it has a life span of about a month or so. After that it's useless.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 12:27 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two

It really is a personal choice with the carbon. Some say you don't need it (like me) others say it's a must. Some believe it soaks up all the chemicals then, when it reaches the end of it's use, can release them back into the tank. Others believe it becomes inert and then becomes bio media. But one thing that is agreed on is it has a life span of about a month or so. After that it's useless.
I think carbon is really only necessary if you're trying to get rid of meds, and once you do, just take it out.
__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:07 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Xand3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
Posts: 103
According to what I read about the filter, you only need the one he gave you, What I would do is get bio max, the sponges, and a polish pad (is like a fiber), run but filters for about a month and after that just keep the aquaclear. In my opinion if your tank is cycled you don't need to use any carbon, carbon is used only to remove meds or smells and after a week, week an half the carbon becomes inactive.
But that's just what I would do, but if you think you really need carbon, you should use it. In my experience, when you think that something is not right, is better to go with your gut .

The biomax and sponges will perform your mechanical and biological filtration, while the polish pad will remove small particles. and if you ever have to dose your aquarium with something you can always remove the polish pad and use carbon instead.
__________________
Xand3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Aces11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Huntley, IL
Posts: 976
I agree with previous posts. I would use a sponge or two and the biomax. The only time you really need carbon is when you're removing meds or other chemicals. carbon only lasts a few weeks anyways.
__________________
Aces11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 09:59 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
nextgeneration40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 125
foam and biomax is all I run in mine too
__________________
26G BF, fish-in cycling,(Aqueon 30)(Soon to be AC70) 3 GloFish, 2 Peppered Corys
90G,fishless cycle, (AquaClear 110 & Aqueon 75) (my MTS flared)
Both Tanks: Prime,API Kits,Not Planted
Don't remember the question, the answer is large PWC's, Prime, and OVERfiltering...
nextgeneration40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:53 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
+1 for the sponge and biomax. I usually put two sponges in the filter.
__________________

__________________
ďA man's errors are his portals of discovery.Ē
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, aquaclear 50, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Marineland Bio-Wheel vs. Aquaclear Power filter? Chriznat20 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-11-2011 01:54 PM
Aquaclear or Marineland? mattman0182 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-02-2011 04:44 PM
Which Aquaclear filtration method to choose? Terrance Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-24-2011 03:41 PM
Woke up to a flood, aquaclear culprit carey General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 08-31-2011 02:09 PM
Need help finding a replacement part Aqua315 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-28-2011 03:21 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.