Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-14-2005, 07:09 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 245
Send a message via MSN to AquaJoe
AquaClear 70

Hello, I have a few basic questions about this device. Does it come with any mesh bags/media when you buy it? Does 'biomax' need to be put in a mesh bag? Does the carbon need to be put into a mesh bag?

Thanks alot, in advance.

Joe
__________________

__________________
AquaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 01:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbia, Maryland
Posts: 330
To my knowlage (But this was about a year ago) They do come with all the inserts.

But to make sure, I suggest yea head down to your LFS and look at the box. Best safe then sorry. Even if you're ordering off the net.
__________________

__________________
One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish
CompMage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 01:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
It comes with everything you need. The carbon insert is already bagged, and there is a mesh bag included for your Biomax, and of course it comes with a foam block.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 01:29 PM   #4
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Since you ae buying online, grab yourself an extra sponge or pack of three....this will allow you to run the filter with two sponges plus the biomax (save the carbon for someday when you need to remove meds or something)...if you buy the 3-pack, you will have two spare sponges for later use.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 03:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 245
Send a message via MSN to AquaJoe
Quote:
Originally Posted by severum mama
It comes with everything you need. The carbon insert is already bagged, and there is a mesh bag included for your Biomax, and of course it comes with a foam block.
So the mesh bag IS included. Good.

I will buy some extra foamys, thank you Toirtis. Are you sure it is a good idea to run a filter with no AC?

Joe
__________________
AquaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 04:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Sure. That's the way I run my Aquaclears. You can just stack the foam blocks on top of each other and then put the bag of Biomax on top. There is plenty of room, and IME it improves mechanical filtration. Plus, if you have to replace a block, you can do it one at a time and remove less of your bacteria that way. But you really won't have to replace the foam often at all. I've had some of my ACs for 2 years and never replaced the foam. You can just rinse it when necessary in tank water during a pwc. Never rinse it in tap water. Good luck- I'm sure you will like the filter as it is very quiet and effective.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 04:01 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 245
Send a message via MSN to AquaJoe
Would it be wise of to order an extra pack of carbon inserts? I was thinking I could buy two mesh bags and use one for AC when I need it and the other for bio max. Would a mesh bag filled with AC be as effective as an insert? I know I can buy AC from WalMart for a lot less then those inserts go for.

Cheers,

Joe
__________________
AquaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 06:03 PM   #8
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Sure, just buy your carbon from Wal-Mart.....you will only need it when removing medications, etc.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 07:11 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
That's the thing I love about the AC 70. You can substitute other manufacturer's media (filter floss, bio) and put any combo you want without any fuss. I added additional bio-balls on the top, foam block on the bottom and filter floss in the middle.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 07:25 PM   #10
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jchillin
That's the thing I love about the AC 70. You can substitute other manufacturer's media (filter floss, bio) and put any combo you want without any fuss. I added additional bio-balls on the top, foam block on the bottom and filter floss in the middle.
We think so too :

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/review...&cat=14&page=1

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/review...&cat=14&page=1

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/review...&cat=14&page=1
__________________

__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, aquaclear 70, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear 30 or 50? new2betas Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 37 09-12-2008 05:52 AM
Aquaclear 50 black hills tj Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 04-16-2007 01:03 PM
Just got my AquaClear richiestang_78 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 17 05-01-2006 12:33 AM
Aquaclear 50 dharris General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 12-01-2005 03:43 PM
Aquaclear on the way! fish_4_all Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 09-12-2005 08:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.