Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-19-2006, 05:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 32
Aquaclear 70 HOB Filter Questions

Hey All,

I have a 55 gallon tank that came as a kit from all glass/tetra. The heater failed this week and I replaced it with a 250W Visi-Therm Stealth heater and while I was at it and had some extra cash I bought a Aquaclear 70 HOB filter to add to my filtration. My plan is to eliminate the Whisper 60 that came in the kit with a second Aquaclear 70 down the road.

I followed what others had done in the media basket by purchasing a second foam filter for the bottom, placing some filter floss between the foam and the Biomax media.

My first question is does the Biomax media need to be completely submerged ??

Currently I would say 75-80% of the bag is completely covered at this time.

My second question would be when I purchase the second unit to replace the Whisper 60, are there other options for media I should be investigating ??

Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
kdcorliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 08:44 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
I try to keep the bio submerged. Since the top surface will not be in contact with the water, it reduces the amount of colonies of beneficial bacteria. An HOB with a bio-wheel turns so that there is constant contact with the water.

Your media choices are perfect, you really don't need anything else.
__________________

__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 09:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 32
The media bag keeps bunching up the Biomax so it wont lay completely flat, will this loosen up with age ?? I only put a real thin layer of filter floss in between the sponge and biomax so I am not sure where I can reduce some hieght to make sure it is all under water.
__________________
kdcorliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 09:23 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
You can trim the sponges a little to make more room as well as adjusting the amount of filter floss. I actually have one and a 1/3 sponges in mine.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 06:36 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 393
Send a message via AIM to Bhunsucker
I use only one sponge in mine and the floss then the biomax media. If you use 2 sponges I dont see how you would have room for the biomax.
__________________
----------------------------------
"Fly Low Avoid the Radar"

55Gal FW Aquarium
AquaClear 110/500 Filter

45gal Clarity Plus Aquarium
Wet/Dry DLS Aquatics Filteration System
Bhunsucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 05:10 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
Really if you are using 2 sponges you don't need the biomax or vice versa. One AC 70 should be sufficient for that tank. I would add an extension tube to get the intake closer to the bottom.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 09:27 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 32
I had done a search on filter media and saw the suggestion of the additional sponge instead of the carbon. Thanks for the advice.
__________________

__________________
kdcorliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, aquaclear 70, clear, filter, hob, hob filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOB Power Filter Questions Boulder Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 19 08-06-2009 11:41 AM
Aquaclear Filter Mod Questions bawel General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 02-15-2009 10:50 PM
Aquaclear Hob Filter -- Water By-pass? CKlown General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 10-20-2008 04:25 PM
Aquaclear 300 HOB just died, what next? Joey2619 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-01-2007 08:48 PM
Changing my HOB filter. Questions??? Fubie Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 10-22-2005 09:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.