Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-10-2011, 04:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 103
Aquaclear 70 measurement

I'm setting up a Marineland Euro 28g bowfront that my kids got as a hand me down. Anyway, it came with a Top Fin 30 filter which I know is too small. I'm not sure if the Aquaclear 50 is large enough, so I thought I'd err on the larger side and go with the Aquaclear 70. I need to know how far the Aquaclear 70 hangs over the top of the tank. I only have 2" from the inside of the plastic frame to the glass top, 2 3/8" from the inside of the glass wall to the glass top. I need to make sure the water fall part does not interfere with the glass top.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
royta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 05:38 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by royta
I'm setting up a Marineland Euro 28g bowfront that my kids got as a hand me down. Anyway, it came with a Top Fin 30 filter which I know is too small. I'm not sure if the Aquaclear 50 is large enough, so I thought I'd err on the larger side and go with the Aquaclear 70. I need to know how far the Aquaclear 70 hangs over the top of the tank. I only have 2" from the inside of the plastic frame to the glass top, 2 3/8" from the inside of the glass wall to the glass top. I need to make sure the water fall part does not interfere with the glass top.

Thanks.
I not familiar with your tank, but you should be able to get the specs for the AC70 online.

Not sure what room you have, but did you consider keeping the top fin running and add say an AC50 too? I have the AC 50 & Fusion4 running on my 50g and they work great together. If I want to clean one, I have one running and if I need to setup a QT, I can move one and instantly have a cycled system.

Just a thought and Welcome Aboard!
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 06:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Deckape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,567
I just bought a 70 as my Aquatech from Walmart gave up the ghost. You need 3.5 inches of clearance from the tank to the wall.
__________________
Smile, it makes folks think that you're up to something.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ml#post1456422
Deckape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 11:00 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 103
Is that measurement from the actual glass to the back of the filter tub? If so, then there should be exactly 2.5" from the back of the glass on the back of the aquarium to the of the filter hanging over on to the top of the tank. I might just have enough room for the filter without having to cut a section out of the glass top.

I have 2.5" from the inside of the back of the aquarium to the rear of the glass top. That is how much room I have for the waterfall section of the filter. I have about an inch from the front of the waterfall section of the Top Fin 30 to the rear of the glass top.


I actually found my old Supreme Aquamaster PME-A power filter. It is a siphon in pump out design. Maybe I'll just use that in tandem with the Top Fin 30. I could set it up with several layers of floss in the tub so that I could change them one at a time and still maintain the bacteria in the floss not changed out. Back in the day *wow, I just said that *, I used to use an inch layer of floss, a layer of activated charcoal, and then an inch or so layer on top fo the charcoal. It worked rather well on my 10g tank at the time, but I have no idea what the gph is on this old filter. I know if you lose siphon, the filter will suck the tub dry real quick.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1453_800-600.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	41.0 KB
ID:	33884   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1456_800-600.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	41.8 KB
ID:	33885  

__________________
royta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 11:08 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Deckape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,567
You need 3.5 inches from the back of the tank to the wall.
__________________
Smile, it makes folks think that you're up to something.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ml#post1456422
Deckape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 11:18 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deckape View Post
You need 3.5 inches from the back of the tank to the wall.
Wayne, is it possible for you to measure from the back of your tank to where the waterfall section drops below the horizontal plane of the top of the tank? By looking at my pictures, do you think I would have the room?
__________________
royta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 11:22 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by royta
Is that measurement from the actual glass to the back of the filter tub? If so, then there should be exactly 2.5" from the back of the glass on the back of the aquarium to the of the filter hanging over on to the top of the tank. I might just have enough room for the filter without having to cut a section out of the glass top.

I have 2.5" from the inside of the back of the aquarium to the rear of the glass top. That is how much room I have for the waterfall section of the filter. I have about an inch from the front of the waterfall section of the Top Fin 30 to the rear of the glass top.

I actually found my old Supreme Aquamaster PME-A power filter. It is a siphon in pump out design. Maybe I'll just use that in tandem with the Top Fin 30. I could set it up with several layers of floss in the tub so that I could change them one at a time and still maintain the bacteria in the floss not changed out. Back in the day *wow, I just said that *, I used to use an inch layer of floss, a layer of activated charcoal, and then an inch or so layer on top fo the charcoal. It worked rather well on my 10g tank at the time, but I have no idea what the gph is on this old filter. I know if you lose siphon, the filter will suck the tub dry real quick.
So that's a gap between the top built-in fixture and the top edge of the tanks back wall?

I can tell you that the AC50's head height is 1.5" (tank rim to top of lid). I gotta figure the AC70 has a bit more, maybe 2"? But you still need to fit it through the gap and I'm not sure how that would work with P/U tube and all.

You should google your old one, it's still around .
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 11:28 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Deckape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,567
I will put a tape on it when I get home. I was going from the directions on the box. I have a 50 and a 70 on my 55 gal, and the 70 is almost twice the size. Gimme a couple hours and I certainly will measure it for you.
__________________
Smile, it makes folks think that you're up to something.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ml#post1456422
Deckape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 01:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 103
Thank you Wayne. Measurements for both the 50 and 70 would be great!!

I've done some searching for my old Supreme Aquamaster PM, but I haven't been successful at finding flowrates. Is there a rule of thumb for a gph to g ratio?
I thought I read that you wanted to cycle the water 4 to 5 times per hour.

The hinged glass top just rests on top of the tank. If I had my mind set on a 70, I could always have the glass cut to fit the 70.
__________________
royta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 01:31 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
you should be fine, you should be able to slide the filter back since the hang on part is slightly larger and has some play
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, aquaclear 70, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Measurement guide new2betas Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 07-13-2008 01:30 AM
How to make a reference KH solution for CO2 measurement Plantbrain Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 0 12-13-2006 01:12 AM
Water Quality Measurement Probes flanque DIY Projects 1 05-10-2006 05:41 PM
Units of Measurement for Water Quality flanque DIY Projects 4 03-28-2005 05:08 PM
Salinity measurement workfortheman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-16-2004 09:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.