Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-10-2014, 08:21 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
This really is an old issue even in this forum: From 2008:

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/aquaclear-hob-filter-water-by-pass-108014.html

Hopefully this information will help people debating whether to go with the Fluval C series vs AquaClear. To sum it up:

1) The AquaClear is prone to the aforementioned bypass issue. Due in part to the fact that water flows bottom meaning less surface area and water going at a higher velocity than most filters (inclucing Fluval C series flow from back to front.

2) The AquaClear does not polish the water out of the box. Inserting tightly packed floss/polishing pad to polish water makes it even more prone to bypass.

3) The Fluval "factory media" contains a pad that goes from coarse to very fine micron level that does polish the water.

4) The AquaClear does not have the drip tray feature that gives more biological filtration.

Some think that the AquaClear is more customizable which simply is not the case. As a matter of fact, I'd say it's the reverse. The only "factory" media I have in mine is the CNodes (essentially the same as AquaClear bio-max). On both my C4 and C3 my media goes Acurel debris reducing pads (cut to fit) -> AquaticLife 100 micron non-woven filter (polishing) pad (cut to fit) -> two 100ml biobags of Seachem Purigen [the C4 has plenty of room so it also has Seachem Matrix in a biobag for extra bio filtration] -> Cnodes. The C series has zero bypass for mechanical filtration (but some bypass for chemical filtration) and zero bypass of biological filtration. There is an indicator to tell you when flow is restricted.

Other interesting observations from watching the C3 and the AC 50 working together side by side:

1) Both filters are rated for tanks "up to 50 gallons" by Hagen. Yet the advertised flow rate is 200 GPH for the AC 50 and 153 for the C3. Yet, the stream of water coming out of both looks almost identical. As a matter of fact, looking from the bottom of the tank up, it appears more water is flowing out of the C3. (This may be because the flow is a bit restricted due to a 300 micron polishing pad and tightly packed matrix and factory bio media). The AC50 cannot handle a 100 micron polishing pad like the C3.

2) The lip of the AC50 is higher out of the water than the C3. This mean the tank really has to be FULL to avoid those annoying little air bubbles and splashing noises.

I guess I should start a new thread on this that is on point so people trying to make the choice between AC & C series can make an informed decision.
__________________

__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 08:48 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Thumper828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 623
I spent a lot time trying to figure out which filter to purchase. I think a side by side comparison would really help a lot of folks.......
__________________

__________________
Thumper828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:25 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumper828 View Post
I spent a lot time trying to figure out which filter to purchase. I think a side by side comparison would really help a lot of folks.......
****
Thanks ....... I remember you went through the same agonizing analysis as I did. Hours wasted if I just knew where to look.

I ordered the same media (sera wool "floss" and blue bonded stuff as you did but Drs Foster & Smith sent the wrong stuff. At least their customer service is good ...... they admitted they made a mistake and shipped out the right "stuff" and it's on its way at no charge. When I get it and service the filters, I am going to do a pretty exact measurement of the volume in cubic inches of media the water is passing through and all that. Then I'll start a new thread called "HOB's - Fluval C vs AquaClear vs something else" ... in hopes it will spare future filter buyers the agony of information gathering ..... and even then ..... as you and I did ... "go with your gut."

Edit: Thumper, I think you said you deleted the "blue bonded stuff" in favor of sera wool due to the bypass issue ... Is that correct? I am going to set my AC up as close to yours as possible since you still get that "fish swimming in air" look. [I'm glad I'm retired so I have plenty of time to devote to my obsession with quality filtration and crystal clear water.]
__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:48 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Thumper828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul1792 View Post
****
Thanks ....... I remember you went through the same agonizing analysis as I did. Hours wasted if I just knew where to look.

I ordered the same media (sera wool "floss" and blue bonded stuff as you did but Drs Foster & Smith sent the wrong stuff. At least their customer service is good ...... they admitted they made a mistake and shipped out the right "stuff" and it's on its way at no charge. When I get it and service the filters, I am going to do a pretty exact measurement of the volume in cubic inches of media the water is passing through and all that. Then I'll start a new thread called "HOB's - Fluval C vs AquaClear vs something else" ... in hopes it will spare future filter buyers the agony of information gathering ..... and even then ..... as you and I did ... "go with your gut."

Edit: Thumper, I think you said you deleted the "blue bonded stuff" in favor of sera wool due to the bypass issue ... Is that correct? I am going to set my AC up as close to yours as possible since you still get that "fish swimming in air" look. [I'm glad I'm retired so I have plenty of time to devote to my obsession with quality filtration and crystal clear water.]
I did do away with the blue media, for the time being. I get great results using the filter floss and adding the blue only caused the water to go out the overflow. I have also omitted the filter floss at one time and used 2 cut to fit pieces of the now omitted media and had good results ....but it seems the filter floss does polish the water better. I have tried so many configurations now its not even funny. The best results I have gotten so far is using the Foam block in the bottom,purigen, 2 cut to fit chunks of the filter wool, then the bio-max on top....with this set up water never goes out the overflow, filter maintenance has been minimal, and I still get the "swimming in air" water clarity.. My brother in law uses foam at bottom,purigen,floss, blue media, then bio with good results also. I guess everyone has there on combination that works well for there application......
__________________
Thumper828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 10:41 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 477
I have used Aquaclears for ever and never had any of the issues that I see mentioned. I find most of the issues boil down to user and shoving too much filter media or improper filter media into the system. Any time I have had issues it was because I let the filter media get clogged up.
__________________
Lepomis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 10:42 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Quote:
The engineers mantra seems to be "If it isn't broke it hasn't been fixed enough".LOL
That might make it in to my signature line for work!
__________________
ryan_calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 11:48 AM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
I don't want to sound like I don't have respect for engineers. I worked closely with a large number of them over my 30 years as a millwright. Some were brilliant some weren't. None were stupid. However, the really good ones could see things in 3D. When discussing a job, changes were often made to improve the install even before it started. Some wouldn't listen (usually new ones but not always) and the job would be done twice. Many of my workmates would get upset about this. I looked at it as job security. Reality was, we were on the same team. They needed us to fulfill their vision.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 01:57 PM   #18
Adipose Fins Are Cool!
 
Old Scales's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 2,752
The only engineers that seemed to really get things right are the ones who got out on the floor with the guys and got dirty too. I ruined probably thousands of dollars of "office" clothes working out with my guys. I loved it cause that's where I started with the company. As a grunt out on the floor. The engineer part didn't come until years of sleepless night later. I'm retired now and miss my guys like you would family. OS.
__________________
Bonified member of "The Wet Arm Society".
One's life should be measured by the number of people who smile when they remember you.
Old Scales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 04:06 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
NeverEnoughFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 15
Just going to bump this thread.

I have an AC 50 on my tank and yes it does have the bypass problem, especially when the flow rate is turned up all the way. I too looked for a solution and saw the many different things people were doing to stop the bypass.

Here's what I ended up doing: I cut a piece of the Acurel brand debris catching pad/sponge to custom fit in that small area where the water enters the filter. I then placed it between the water collection area and where the water exits the AC 50 (on top of the bio media). Problem solved! Now the water is forced to go through my sponge and even if its falling right back out of the filter well at least now I know that its being cleaned before going back into the tank. Plus if you leave the sponge in that area long enough I would bet it'll become another good home for beneficial bacteria!

Maybe those custom AC media baskets can make the AC filters better performing but why pay as much as you would for the entire filter when you can take a cheap sponge and stuff it in-between the area where the bypass issues occur.

Just my .02 on the matter but hopefully it will work for anyone who experiences these bypass issues and is looking for a solution for them.
__________________

__________________
20gal tank with: 4 neon tetras, 3 glowlight tetras, 3 emerald rasboras, 1 galaxy rasbora, 1 male dwarf gourami and ghost shrimp.
NeverEnoughFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquac, aquaclear, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.