Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-02-2013, 04:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sidman24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 752
Aquaclear filter grinding noise

I have two 50 gallon aquaclear filters and both of them are making a grinding noise in the filter. It is very annoying and loud. I can take them apart, and it seems to fix the problem a little bit then it just starts making that awful noise again! I even bought a new motor. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Sidman24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 08:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,432
You probably need a new impeller not motor. If the impeller gets any imperfections in it it will make a noise. Sometimes you cannot see the imperfection but it is there. The only time my Aquaclear made noise was when the impeller blade cracked. Try rubbing some Vaseline on the impeller shaft. Pay special attention to the metal shaft that turns the fan part. The Vaseline will not hurt your tank. That may fix it temporarily.
__________________

__________________
wildroseofky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 08:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bschowa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wisconsin - River Falls
Posts: 419
Take it apart give the motor a good clean with a q tip and wash the filter in the dishwasher that usually takes care of that noise, idk how but a good clean has always fixed mine.
__________________
Bschowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 09:19 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
What kind of substrate do you have in the tank???
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 09:45 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian086 View Post
What kind of substrate do you have in the tank???
That's a good question. Perhaps sand or grit got into the impeller area. A prefilter sponge might help prevent this. Or raising the intake.

I brought a new AquaClear 50 and it was making a grinding noise from the start. I ended up swapping out the impeller from another AC50 that was running silent and now both are pretty quiet.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 09:47 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
That's a good question. Perhaps sand or grit got into the impeller area. A prefilter sponge might help prevent this. Or raising the intake.
That was my next suggestion...lol
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 02:06 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,432
I use blasting sand substrate and that is how I ruined my first impeller. I got the sand stirred up planting some new plants and didn't have a pre filter on the intake. The sand cracked the impeller blade. A sponge on the intake is a necessity when using sand substrate.
__________________
wildroseofky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 02:51 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sidman24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 752
I do use sand, that's probably why! Thanks guys
__________________
Sidman24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 04:36 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidman24 View Post
I do use sand, that's probably why! Thanks guys
Yeah a filter sponge should definitely sort it out....
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 09:23 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Gizzepi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidman24 View Post
I have two 50 gallon aquaclear filters and both of them are making a grinding noise in the filter. It is very annoying and loud. I can take them apart, and it seems to fix the problem a little bit then it just starts making that awful noise again! I even bought a new motor. Any ideas?
I'm having problems with my 70,No grinding noise but gurgling sound coming from intake tube,Driving me nuts,Do you have this issue?I might return mine
__________________

__________________
Gizzepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.