Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-17-2011, 12:01 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 988
Yeah, I had to replace my impeller/shaft because it got scratched and the AC stopped working. Check it for damage.
__________________

__________________
jenatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 01:31 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillD View Post
While it is possible the electrical part of the motor is damaged, this is rare. Have you removed and examined the shaft the impeller runs on? If it is worn it can cause the above problem. It is cheaper to replace than an impeller.
No, I haven't. I think it looks fine. Is it obvious if it's worn?
Also, how do you replace it? & Where can you find it?
__________________

__________________
pomplamousse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 01:39 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 988
The shaft should be smooth. If it has scratches, ridges, etc. then it's damaged. You can try getting Hagen to replace it if it's new. Otherwise, I ordered my parts online, on Amazon (since sand damaged it, it would be considered my fault it was damaged).
__________________
jenatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 08:42 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenatronQT3.14159 View Post
The shaft should be smooth. If it has scratches, ridges, etc. then it's damaged. You can try getting Hagen to replace it if it's new. Otherwise, I ordered my parts online, on Amazon (since sand damaged it, it would be considered my fault it was damaged).
Ah, isee. Thank you very much.
__________________
pomplamousse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 10:11 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 31
Just wondering if anyone knows if a dirty impeller would cause the filter from cleaning the tank water properly. I use to have a top fin filter but got this aquaclear from a friend a while back. Seems to not be cleaning the water properly as the tank water is always dirty (and nitrate and ammonia levels up) even a day after a water change.
__________________

__________________
RugbyBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear, filter, malfunction, motor, oto

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filter's Pinky77 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 02-23-2011 04:19 AM
Cory Cat Malfunctioning Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 5 08-03-2006 07:50 PM
wet/dry filter's fishDan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 08-16-2004 12:36 AM
Help!! Malfunctioning powerfilter!!! Chikadee General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-28-2004 11:10 PM
malfunctioning (?) heater mgkaelen General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 03-25-2004 03:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.