Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-03-2011, 12:23 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
hbeth82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 623
Question AquaClear HOB filter leaking - anyone else have this problem?

A few months ago I came home to find 15+ gallons of water had leaked out of my 55gal community tank. I assumed that there was something wrong with the tank & since I'd recently moved, others suggested that damage might have been done to frame or seals during the move. Got a new tank & assumed the problem was solved.

Just got home this evening from being gone all weekend to find a similar sight, though this time the water lost was probably closer to about 10 or so gallons. The water was high enough that the filters (2 Aqua Clear HOBs, a 30 & a 50) were still cycling water & I notice that one of them, the 50, appeared to be leaking. It was in the same corner of the tank were the damage had been worst in the previous incident so I'm guess it was the filter both times.

Has anyone else ever had this problem with the AC HOB's? Also, in relocating the media to the filter on my 75gal, I noticed that a lot of crud had collected on the media - is it possible that this build-up was displacing water & that the only problem with the filter was that I hadn't been cleaning the media? I know this should only be done with tank water.

Fingers crossed someone will be able to come help tomorrow after work & thankful it's not mold season!
__________________

__________________
hbeth82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 01:46 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
With AC filters, you need to make sure they aren't leaning backwards, or they will leak when the sponges get dirty. There should be a plastic bit near the motor to adjust the filter box so it is level.
__________________

__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 02:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cumberland, MD
Posts: 2,444
Unless it's leaking around the O-ring make sure the media isn't loaded and pushing from the water flow, raising the water level to the top of the filter case.
__________________
toddnbecka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear, filter, hob, hob filter, leaking

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
filter leaking like mad newportman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 09-25-2011 04:40 PM
aquaclear filter question Rinzy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-14-2011 02:58 AM
Cascade 300 Filter to big for 29g??/PH problem SpringlakeTank Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 07-11-2011 02:54 PM
Aquaclear 50 filter superdave07 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 07-02-2011 02:34 AM
Aquaclear 50 filter cleaning Ant329 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 06-25-2011 10:45 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.