Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-02-2014, 04:16 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
C4 best HOB ever get it.... only reason I could see getting a AC is for the 110 but I would rather have 2 C4's. Had my C4 for like 3 years, always worked, motor never gets plugged up, easy to change filter media and remove carbon if needed.

Only issue I have had is if you unplug it sometimes you need to "poke" the impeller with you finger to get it spinning again.

IMO the C series is basically the new upgrade to the AC's but the AC's were so popular Hagen didn't want to stop selling them so now they have 2 HOB lines....
__________________

__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 04:41 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
Clean it, hardly. I think what they're experiencing is something common to both AC and Fluval C filters. After it's been unplugged and cleaned, it sometimes doesn't start back up after being plugged back in. You simply have to use a skewer stick or something similar and give the impeller a little nudge. Just adjust the flow control until it moves the intake tube enough to expose the impeller in order to reach it with stick. Works every time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul1792 View Post
*******
Exactly. An ice pick or small screw driver works as well. This is not rocket science. .........

But ........ I do find it bizarre. For a premium product at a premium price, you'd think the morons at Hagen could get it right.

Although inferior in all other aspects, at least WalMart AquaTech filters will go a full year without this problem. I got two years on one along with BB algae clogs before mine quit spinning. At the time .... I was not doing enough water changes before joining this forum.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
Yeah that's strange. I have no idea why they don't address this when this happens in all their HOBs I have. I have 2x AC's and 2x C filters. Aside from this minor annoyance and the initial not-so-silent break-in period, the filters have all worked great for my needs. But seriously, maybe they should include this issue in a "trouble shooting" section of their owners manual if they don't address the problem in the design or tolerances in the manufacturing process. But knowing this issue + the easy work around, I'd happily buy another C filter if need be and I have no reservations in recommending them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattcham View Post
I just remove the intake tube and the grey rectangular impeller chamber cap, then very lightly nudge the impeller with the tip of my index finger. Works too and doesn't hurt my finger at all.

I experience this problem every 5 to 10 months. I've always attributed it to bio-slime accumulation in the impeller chamber. However if you guys are experiencing it after cleaning the impeller, then maybe it is not related to bio-slime after all.


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Aquarium Advice mobile app
exaactly what I was talking about lol. I'd how or why the magnet doesn't move the impeller until you poke it? Cheaper Tetra and Marineland filters motors always work.

My AC motors always jammed with barnacle type things and the media basket kind of falls apart when pulled out. Never had my C4 jam tho.
__________________

__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 12:17 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScaryFatKidGT View Post
C4 best HOB ever get it.... only reason I could see getting a AC is for the 110 but I would rather have 2 C4's. Had my C4 for like 3 years, always worked, motor never gets plugged up, easy to change filter media and remove carbon if needed.

Only issue I have had is if you unplug it sometimes you need to "poke" the impeller with you finger to get it spinning again.

IMO the C series is basically the new upgrade to the AC's but the AC's were so popular Hagen didn't want to stop selling them so now they have 2 HOB lines....
*******
Amen.

Not sure if you saw my post #4 in this thread ..... but you may want to put Seachem Purigen in the chemical chamber in lieu of carbon.
__________________

__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquac, aquaclear, clear, fluval, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swap: aquaclear 110 and aquaclear 70 capecodaquarium Archive 20 05-26-2012 05:12 PM
AquaTech vs AquaClear vs Fluval Vol4Ever General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 08-15-2011 10:05 PM
Fluval 305 & Aquaclear 110 vs eheim 2217 mikeybabs Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-06-2011 01:36 AM
Fluval/AquaClear Surface Skimmer -- anyone using this? netwireless General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 08-04-2005 01:57 PM
AquaClear/Fluval surface skimmer attachment? stormyc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-19-2005 03:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.