Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-27-2014, 04:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 21
Aquaclear vs Fluval

Hey guys,

I'm curious as to what your take is on aquaclear power filter vs the fluval c4. My 55 gallon tank is currently running on a in-tank filter and it seems to be doing an awful job at clearing water debris. My plants are covered with brownish waste. Anyways, I know that the fluval c4 has the carbon filter which would help the cause of clearing the water. What's ya'lls take on this as well. I would also love to hear any other product recommendations.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
tonysss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 05:01 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
I have never use the Fluval, but do have several ACs. I like them because the sponges last for many years so there is no ongoing cost for replacing elements. having said that, most of my tanks are filtered using Hydrosponge filters.
__________________

__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 02:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
I have had both aquaclears and fluval c-Series HOB's. IMO, the fluval c-Series is like an AC but more updated, innovative, and refined. They're both made by Hagen/Fluval so they share the same impeller and reliability. However, the c-Series has a great modular design with a wet/dry trickle chamber for optimal BB growth and sustainability. I've been using a c2 for 2 years now and just got a c4 because I loved it that much. I'd get the c4 if I were you. IMO, the only filter better than it would be a canister filter, no other HOB can beat it. An AC gets close though. Watch some YouTube vids on it and be amazed!
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 06:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
I have had both aquaclears and fluval c-Series HOB's. IMO, the fluval c-Series is like an AC but more updated, innovative, and refined. They're both made by Hagen/Fluval so they share the same impeller and reliability. However, the c-Series has a great modular design with a wet/dry trickle chamber for optimal BB growth and sustainability. I've been using a c2 for 2 years now and just got a c4 because I loved it that much. I'd get the c4 if I were you. IMO, the only filter better than it would be a canister filter, no other HOB can beat it. An AC gets close though. Watch some YouTube vids on it and be amazed!
***********
Fluval C4 for sure. AquaClear is obsolete by comparison . You can really do a nice job with custom media with the C series and you don't even have to shut the things off when you servcie them.

Here is a link to my HOB filtration section on Photobucket which shows the separate compartments and my C series custom media ..... as well as a shot of that horrible messy AquaClear media basket.

HOB Filtration Photos by Paul1792 | Photobucket

(click on each picture to enlarge it and see the full explanation)
__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 06:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
Nice work, Paul. You should do a write up with photos here so you can link to it.

I also modified my fluval-c. I'm still in the original sponge but when the polishing layer got trashed, I peeled it away and use this in lieu of it.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00025...ref=mp_s_a_1_4

I also don't use the activated carbon anymore. I added biomax there along with a small media bag of purigen. I love how this filter can accommodate customized media.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 09:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
I've been using a c2 for 2 years now and just got a c4 because I loved it that much.
You never had your impeller stuck due to bio-slime buildup inside impeller chamber that so many verified owners in amazon complained about? Do you clean the impeller chamber often?



Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mattcham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 09:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
Clean it, hardly. I think what they're experiencing is something common to both AC and Fluval C filters. After it's been unplugged and cleaned, it sometimes doesn't start back up after being plugged back in. You simply have to use a skewer stick or something similar and give the impeller a little nudge. Just adjust the flow control until it moves the intake tube enough to expose the impeller in order to reach it with stick. Works every time.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 10:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
Clean it, hardly. I think what they're experiencing is something common to both AC and Fluval C filters. After it's been unplugged and cleaned, it sometimes doesn't start back up after being plugged back in. You simply have to use a skewer stick or something similar and give the impeller a little nudge. Just adjust the flow control until it moves the intake tube enough to expose the impeller in order to reach it with stick. Works every time.
*******
Exactly. An ice pick or small screw driver works as well. This is not rocket science. .........

But ........ I do find it bizarre. For a premium product at a premium price, you'd think the morons at Hagen could get it right.

Although inferior in all other aspects, at least WalMart AquaTech filters will go a full year without this problem. I got two years on one along with BB algae clogs before mine quit spinning. At the time .... I was not doing enough water changes before joining this forum.
__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 10:41 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
Yeah that's strange. I have no idea why they don't address this when this happens in all their HOBs I have. I have 2x AC's and 2x C filters. Aside from this minor annoyance and the initial not-so-silent break-in period, the filters have all worked great for my needs. But seriously, maybe they should include this issue in a "trouble shooting" section of their owners manual if they don't address the problem in the design or tolerances in the manufacturing process. But knowing this issue + the easy work around, I'd happily buy another C filter if need be and I have no reservations in recommending them.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 11:56 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
After it's been unplugged and cleaned, it sometimes doesn't start back up after being plugged back in. You simply have to use a skewer stick or something similar and give the impeller a little nudge.
I just remove the intake tube and the grey rectangular impeller chamber cap, then very lightly nudge the impeller with the tip of my index finger. Works too and doesn't hurt my finger at all.

I experience this problem every 5 to 10 months. I've always attributed it to bio-slime accumulation in the impeller chamber. However if you guys are experiencing it after cleaning the impeller, then maybe it is not related to bio-slime after all.


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
mattcham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquac, aquaclear, clear, fluval, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swap: aquaclear 110 and aquaclear 70 capecodaquarium Archive 20 05-26-2012 05:12 PM
AquaTech vs AquaClear vs Fluval Vol4Ever General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 08-15-2011 10:05 PM
Fluval 305 & Aquaclear 110 vs eheim 2217 mikeybabs Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-06-2011 01:36 AM
Fluval/AquaClear Surface Skimmer -- anyone using this? netwireless General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 08-04-2005 01:57 PM
AquaClear/Fluval surface skimmer attachment? stormyc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-19-2005 03:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.