Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-02-2009, 11:34 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mtlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 347
Aquarium caulk question

I need to seal up a small leak on my sump and was looking at using the aquarium caulk to do this. My question is if you can use the caulk on a wet surface, or do you have to dry it first. I am currently curing my LR and want to keep the filtration running if possible. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
mtlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 01:00 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
By caulk do you mean aquarium silicone? The clear stuff?

I'd let it dry out. It's not going to affect the curing process as long as you have some way to maintain some flow around the rocks. Let the area dry, set the silicone and let it setup for 24 hours. You'll be fine.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 03:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mtlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 347
I will have 2 Koralia 4 powerheads running when filter is off is that ok?
__________________
mtlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 03:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mtlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 347
Sorry, yes I meant the clear stuff!
__________________
mtlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 03:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 201
The glass has to be clean and dry.
Then it needs to cure for 24 hours or so.
If the leak is where two pieces of glass come together, I run about a 1/4" bead then use my finger to make it concave. After it's dry, you can trim with a single edge razor blade.
Charles
__________________
cbwmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 04:23 PM   #6
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Or, lay painters tape where you want the edge, then run the bead, let it sit about 5 minutes and pull the tape - boom; clean edges

Yes, with 2 K4s you'll be fine for a few days even in there for just curing.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aquarium cleaing question! I NEED HELP!!! Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 02-06-2006 07:43 PM
Aquarium question imthenguyen General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 12-10-2005 01:46 PM
Aquarium Question kaz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 09-22-2005 07:57 PM
removing old caulk Meredith Aquaria Off-Topic 5 07-23-2005 11:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.