Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-28-2016, 03:54 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 22
Aquarium pump for water changes

Hi Everyone,

I want to set up a new fish room but do not want to use a python for water changes.

I would like to see if anyone has any experience using an external pump and some sort of hose to remove water from tanks?

I do not want to put the pump in the tank. Only a hose since I will have at least 20 tanks to start. Any advice?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Tjd2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 06:56 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
I use an inline non submersible pump to take water out and a pond pump in a 55 gal water barrel to put water in. Works very well.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 12:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
lksdrinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tjd2006 View Post
Hi Everyone,

I want to set up a new fish room but do not want to use a python for water changes.

I would like to see if anyone has any experience using an external pump and some sort of hose to remove water from tanks?

I do not want to put the pump in the tank. Only a hose since I will have at least 20 tanks to start. Any advice?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Good thing to remember is that most pumps wont be able to do anything unless you prime the line and fill it with water. I learned this one the hard way in my fish room. So what I do now is still use my python and added shutoff valves to each end of everything. I start the python and get the hose full of water. Close the shutoff valve and then take the hose which is now full of water and connect to the pump. Plug the pump in and then open the valves and now the pump can empty a tank. Now as long as I'm paying enough attention I can close the valve on the tank side of the hose before the siphon breaks, and I can move on to the next tank. Otherwise, I have to go back tot he python to again prime the hose before I can empty the next tank.
__________________
Check out Rich's Fishes on Youtube and Instagram!
Curator of an ever growing fish room containing the following tanks:72G; 2x55G; 2x20G high; 20G long; 30G; 38G; 7x10G; 2x12G long; 2x29G; 2.5G;
lksdrinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 01:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by lksdrinker View Post
Good thing to remember is that most pumps wont be able to do anything unless you prime the line and fill it with water. I learned this one the hard way in my fish room. So what I do now is still use my python and added shutoff valves to each end of everything. I start the python and get the hose full of water. Close the shutoff valve and then take the hose which is now full of water and connect to the pump. Plug the pump in and then open the valves and now the pump can empty a tank. Now as long as I'm paying enough attention I can close the valve on the tank side of the hose before the siphon breaks, and I can move on to the next tank. Otherwise, I have to go back tot he python to again prime the hose before I can empty the next tank.
None of my three pumps need any special treatment?? Just turn them on and they move water.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 03:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 22
It looks like a lot of the inline pumps are self priming. Do you have yours in a garden hose?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Tjd2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 05:39 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
lksdrinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
None of my three pumps need any special treatment?? Just turn them on and they move water.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tjd2006 View Post
It looks like a lot of the inline pumps are self priming. Do you have yours in a garden hose?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Maybe I should clarify that I keep the pump stationary near my utility tub use it inline as opposed to placing the pump in or near any tank. I use about 25 foot of hose from the tank to the pump which is what I need to prime.
__________________
Check out Rich's Fishes on Youtube and Instagram!
Curator of an ever growing fish room containing the following tanks:72G; 2x55G; 2x20G high; 20G long; 30G; 38G; 7x10G; 2x12G long; 2x29G; 2.5G;
lksdrinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 06:25 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
What kind of pump is it?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 06:26 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 22
Brook. What kind of pumps do you have ?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Tjd2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 07:38 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Stand by, I have to do some research I've bought so much aquarium related stuff I have a tough time remembering the off brand stuff. They're off amazon. I'll link it

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 07:52 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
These for adding water
EcoPlus 728310 Eco 396 Submersible Pump, 396GPH https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0018X2XT4..._itB-wbQ5WBD38

Beckett Corporation Pond Pump Kit with Prefilter and Nozzles, 600 GPH https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005G6TOF0..._xuB-wb7FBSA5W

Something like this for removing water
https://www.google.com/search?q=non+...v8DsrZereBitAH

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium, ate, change, pump, water, water change, water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water pump for water changes help Millerman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 08-15-2014 09:38 PM
Water pump for water changes. molliwopp Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 30 03-01-2014 09:22 AM
changes changes changes Benjithecookiemonster Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 06-17-2008 03:26 PM
Pump Water for Water Changes theotheragentm Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-17-2007 01:59 PM
submersible water pump for water changes dax29 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 03-31-2005 06:14 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.