Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-20-2006, 01:24 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dscount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alaska
Posts: 249
Send a message via MSN to dscount Send a message via Yahoo to dscount
I'm in the same boat. I've a 9watt Turbo Twist heading my way right now from DrFosters.

Doesn't seem to matter but you have to put it somewhere.

Wouldn't it significantly decrease the GPH on the return from the SUMP to the tank?
__________________

__________________
75gal Salt, 18gal Sump, Skimmer, 60lb Live Rock, 90lb Live Sand, 3 Pwrhd, 2x55w Actinic, 2x55w 10k. Guest list: Goby Green Clown, Percula Clown and entire clean up crew.
dscount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 01:25 AM   #12
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
I have a couple and like them well enough...just make sure that the one you buy has good duration of water contact with the UV...too little contact and the steriliser is useless.
__________________

__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 09:11 AM   #13
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
You want the water to have a decreased flow so it will have more time in the chamber. I worry sometimes that it is going to fast with my return. But no ick in 7 yrs so far so I`ll leave it like it is. I use the turbo twist also.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 02:39 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
squawkbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 274
For a little more $ up front, ozonizers (ozone generators & associated controller/monitor) should do a better job, and not need new bulbs annually (or more often). You just have to clean up the probes annually. http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...1&N=2004&Nty=1
squawkbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 08:38 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 468
No one really answered what I need to run one? Do I need a powerhead or can I hook it to the inlet on my AC 50? Or is there one that has a built in pump?
__________________
richiestang_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 10:14 PM   #16
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Most of them dont have a built in pump. You have to have a line going in and out with a pump pushing the water. You`ll need to get a pump with it or use a line that already has water pumped into it.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 11:55 AM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Could you run one in your main tank, without the loss of pods or does it really matter?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 07:45 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dscount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alaska
Posts: 249
Send a message via MSN to dscount Send a message via Yahoo to dscount
Yes you need a pump of some sort. Roughly 400-500 gph rated.

I'm using a MAG 7 in my sump and it returns about 420 gph with the 2 elbow joints on the turbotwist I'm using as well the lift overhead. Joints tend to slow the flow down but so does the twist slightly.
__________________

__________________
75gal Salt, 18gal Sump, Skimmer, 60lb Live Rock, 90lb Live Sand, 3 Pwrhd, 2x55w Actinic, 2x55w 10k. Guest list: Goby Green Clown, Percula Clown and entire clean up crew.
dscount is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UV Sterilizers? Buffalo Bill Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 07-19-2006 11:18 AM
How do you all like your UV sterilizers? vipvenom General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 09-17-2005 09:02 PM
UV Sterilizers seacat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 07-02-2005 08:43 AM
UV Sterilizers ? evenings Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 06-02-2004 10:46 PM
UV Sterilizers Which is better. Scottw68TN General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 11-15-2003 09:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.