Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-02-2014, 01:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
RadMax8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 661
Aquatek Needle Valve is Very Touchy

Hey guys,

I have been using my CO2 system for a couple weeks now and I've got a question: are all needle valves super touchy? If I turn it 1/16 of a turn, it's the difference between .5 BPS and 1000 BPS. Is this typical, or should I look at replacing this part? Any suggestions on replacements? Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
RadMax8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 08:22 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Which reg. Is it? Mini paintball?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 08:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,803
What is the working pressure set at? I read somewhere that the higher the working pressure, the more sensitive the needle valve adjust is. But I cannot for the source to confirm that.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 08:47 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
RadMax8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 661
It's the Deluxe model, adjustable working pressure. I've got it hooked to a 5# tank.

The input pressure is about 1000 psi from the tank, and I've got it down to an output of between 35-40, as my GLA diffuser asks for at least 30. Working pressure fluctuates a bit.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
RadMax8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 09:11 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Im the wrong person to comment but anyways.. i set the working pressure at 7, the full tank sits around 900, my needle valves are extremely touchy.. like you say. . Not much between 4 bps and 100 bps..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 09:37 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
RadMax8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 661
How are you getting your co2 into the system, Brookster? Do I remember seeing you build a reactor? That makes sense that you can use a low working pressure.

I'm just real nervous, I adjusted the flow last night and now I'm going to spend about 12 hours away.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
RadMax8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 09:42 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadMax8 View Post
How are you getting your co2 into the system, Brookster? Do I remember seeing you build a reactor? That makes sense that you can use a low working pressure.

I'm just real nervous, I adjusted the flow last night and now I'm going to spend about 12 hours away.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
One thing I've learned, never adjust and go.. sometimes it takes an hour to clear the diffuser and the bible rate can increase. I diffuse 3 dissent ways at the moment. Reactor, diffuser into cannister intake and diffuser under hob outflow. All seem to working fine for the application. It could always be better though.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 09:50 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
RadMax8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 661
Yeah I sat and watched while I did my water change... I kept it on for an extra hour and all seemed to be fine. I'm just a Nervous Nelly, y'know?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
RadMax8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 09:52 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadMax8 View Post
Yeah I sat and watched while I did my water change... I kept it on for an extra hour and all seemed to be fine. I'm just a Nervous Nelly, y'know?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Should be good, you'd be best in obsessing over anything co2 related.. it's the one thing aside from a heater malfunction that could wipe your tank with the quickness.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 12:20 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,803
I'm using the AquaTek Premium. Tank psi is 1000, working psi is about the same as yours (30-40). Yes, needle valve can be touchy. Last adjustment was 3+ months ago when I went from 1-2 bps to 3 bps. I try not to touch it. When I was running it at 20 psi with a Fluval diffuser, would actually see the working psi jump up and down with each bubble. Also, early on (first couple of months) the bps would sporadically jump up for several minutes and then back to normal.
Yes, I once gassed the tank but I was home and caught it in time.
Would like to run a reactor one day.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Aquatek 6 way co2 gang valve splitter jetajockey Archive 0 01-13-2014 06:41 AM
CO2 Setup - 15lbs tank/regulator/needle valve maxwell1295 Archive 7 05-14-2008 11:40 PM
proper needle valve kristen Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 06-06-2007 09:37 PM
Fed up with this needle valve omgfish Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 05-22-2007 01:23 AM
What kind of Needle Valve aquanaut Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 04-08-2006 01:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.