Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2013, 02:11 AM   #11
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
Ahh yes small small world. That stinks about the hood issue. You mean the glass lids?
No; the hoods are the deluxe black plastic kind; came with the tank package...
__________________

__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:24 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post

No; the hoods are the deluxe black plastic kind; came with the tank package...
Ah I gotcha. You can purchase glass tops from your LFS.

http://www.aqueonproducts.com/produc...glass-tops.htm

Then ANY light you can dream of will work
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:40 PM   #13
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
Ah I gotcha. You can purchase glass tops from your LFS.

Aqueon » Versa-Top? Hinged Glass Tops | Products

Then ANY light you can dream of will work
Yes, indeed I know; I would just like to try and make these hoods work if I could because they just fit perfectly, and I had glass tops on my last 60 gallon which would always fall into the tank during cleanings and such....I just didn't care for them. But they DO make the selection of lights definitely more widely available...
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:58 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Well either way good luck! Maybe different bulbs? You have t8's right?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 05:40 PM   #15
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
Well either way good luck! Maybe different bulbs? You have t8's right?
I have no idea what's in these hoods; this is what I bought:

60 Gallon Aquarium » Marineland® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble | PetSmart
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:32 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 216
I have the Aqueon FW over a 29g, had the Marineland double bright on it prior to the Aqueon. The Aqueon blows it out of the water for brightness and color in my opinion. The Aqueon is more white and has the red bulbs that help the color of fish pop, the Marineland has more of a blueish look to it and it's no where near are bright. The Aqueon prduces a lot more "shimmer" to it. The only thing I don't like about the Aqueon is the power switch is out 6 inches away from the plug in.
Personally I'd take the Aqueon any day over the Marineland.
You can take the light fixture off the tank and set the Aqueon where the lights were, that's what I did on my 29g.
__________________
jefferzbooboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:34 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post

I have no idea what's in these hoods; this is what I bought:

60 Gallon Aquarium » Marineland® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble | PetSmart
You more hen likely have t8's there bigger bulbs the t5's are thinner.

If it was me I'd do the glass tops. That setup kinda limits you as you can see. You have a single bulb in each fixture right?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:26 PM   #18
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
You more hen likely have t8's there bigger bulbs the t5's are thinner.

If it was me I'd do the glass tops. That setup kinda limits you as you can see. You have a single bulb in each fixture right?
You know something, I'm not sure if they're single or double rows of bulbs in each hood/fixture; I THINK they're double, believe it or not...I will have to check the next time I take them off...

Here's the thing, though: Can't I somehow keep these hoods and replace the bulbs inside with something else? I realize the fluorescent lights are the "clip-in" kind of connection as opposed to the standard bulb "screw-in" type, but can't I find any incadescent or LED setup that would allow me to use these fixtures/hoods?
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:34 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post

You know something, I'm not sure if they're single or double rows of bulbs in each hood/fixture; I THINK they're double, believe it or not...I will have to check the next time I take them off...

Here's the thing, though: Can't I somehow keep these hoods and replace the bulbs inside with something else? I realize the fluorescent lights are the "clip-in" kind of connection as opposed to the standard bulb "screw-in" type, but can't I find any incadescent or LED setup that would allow me to use these fixtures/hoods?
Oh yes, you can mod the hood and get something like this and put it in the place of the bulbs while keeping the look you have.

http://www.ecoxotic.com/panorama-led-modules.html
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:43 PM   #20
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
Oh yes, you can mod the hood and get something like this and put it in the place of the bulbs while keeping the look you have.

Ecoxotic Panorama LED Module
Hmmmmm....interesting....thanks very much for that link!

I could also just change the KIND of fluorescent lighting in my hood, right, without doing any kind of modding? Perhaps something else that would look less sterile, less cold/sickly?
__________________

__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqueon, led, led lighting, light, lighting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.