Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-14-2012, 03:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Shoei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: De Land, Florida
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to Shoei
Aqueon model 3 Sump

Ok I just got the model 3 sump and i need to know what return pump would fit in the 3rd chamber 8-1/2" x 13-3/4" and also what overflow i need to get. My tank is not drilled would the CPR overflow work? This is my first sump so I am trying to figure it all out
__________________

__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Shoei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:15 PM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
As far as the pump, there aren't too many common models out there that won't fit in those dimensions, so it will come down to what you need for your size tank. How many gallons is the sump and display tank?

I use an Eheim return pump. It is a bit more expensive, but nearly silent in operation, and have used their canisters for years and feel they make reliable products. A lot of folks also use the mag drive pumps, which come highly recommended and are a bit cheaper than the Eheims. Both are available at Bulkreefsupply.com.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:50 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Shoei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: De Land, Florida
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to Shoei
Quote:
Originally Posted by fort384 View Post
As far as the pump, there aren't too many common models out there that won't fit in those dimensions, so it will come down to what you need for your size tank. How many gallons is the sump and display tank?

I use an Eheim return pump. It is a bit more expensive, but nearly silent in operation, and have used their canisters for years and feel they make reliable products. A lot of folks also use the mag drive pumps, which come highly recommended and are a bit cheaper than the Eheims. Both are available at Bulkreefsupply.com.
Display is 55
Sump is 20.9

Now if i get the cpr overflow rated 300gph should i get a return pump thats rated close or higher? Should the gph be almost the same?
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Shoei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 12:44 PM   #4
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Well if you go higher you will need a way to choke it down such as a ball valve. You don't want to pump up more water than the overflow is capable of handling.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 12:55 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
Don't forget to take into account head loss! In other words, if you get a pump rated at 300gph and set it in the sump on the floor with a return four feet above, there won't be 300gph coming out because the pump has to overcome the back pressure. Most of this information can be found on the pump packaging.

Whatever the flow rate on the pump is at the head height you have, you want the overflow rated that or higher so the pump doesn't drain the sump faster than the overflow can drain the tank and refill the sump.

having a valve on your pump is a good idea anyway IMO if you need to remove the sump for maintenance or something, and that can keep you from having a flood or otherwise making a big mess.
__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 01:00 PM   #6
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
All good points! Head loss is dramatic so it needs to be accounted for.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 01:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
skywhitney's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,167
I'm using a CPR CS90 overflow and a Rio 2100 in My ProFlex model 3 setup. It all works great and i get a strong flow at a 5' head height.

My tank is a 70g so it's a little bigger than yours.
__________________
Saltwater: 120g Mixed Reef :|: 20g Mixed Reef
Freshwater: 93g Planted Community
Other: 100g Amazon Milk Frog Vivarium :|: 40b Ghost Cornsnake Terrarium
skywhitney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 01:35 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Shoei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: De Land, Florida
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to Shoei
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rutrag View Post
Don't forget to take into account head loss! In other words, if you get a pump rated at 300gph and set it in the sump on the floor with a return four feet above, there won't be 300gph coming out because the pump has to overcome the back pressure. Most of this information can be found on the pump packaging.

Whatever the flow rate on the pump is at the head height you have, you want the overflow rated that or higher so the pump doesn't drain the sump faster than the overflow can drain the tank and refill the sump.

having a valve on your pump is a good idea anyway IMO if you need to remove the sump for maintenance or something, and that can keep you from having a flood or otherwise making a big mess.
Ok so if i get the cpr 300gph overflow and a mag rated 350gph and i have 3 feet of headloss this should be ok? Sorry i like this hobby but i aint vey good in the plumbing section of this hobby lol
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Shoei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 01:38 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
skywhitney's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,167
for the cost of a CS50 overflow i would recommend just going with the CS90 and putting a ball valve on there to throttle down the flow. The CS90 is only $15 more on Amazon and it's rated at 600gph. JMO though.

Edit: Something else to keep in mind, the bulkhead on the CS50 overflow is 3/4" and the Model 3 Sump intake is a 1" connector. Not a big difference but a difference none the less.
__________________

__________________
Saltwater: 120g Mixed Reef :|: 20g Mixed Reef
Freshwater: 93g Planted Community
Other: 100g Amazon Milk Frog Vivarium :|: 40b Ghost Cornsnake Terrarium
skywhitney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqueon, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.