Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-23-2012, 06:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
eAts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dunlap, Il
Posts: 188
Aqueon or Python water changer

Those of you that use either the Aqueon or Python water changer, during a regular water change, do you fill the tank directly from the tap? Do you condition the water in the tank, both before the tap water is added then after the tank is refilled? I'm just wondering the best way to go about this, but was hoping to not have to deal with the buckets of water. Thanks, Let me know of your experiences with either of these products.
__________________

__________________
eAts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 06:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
hpiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 417
I turn the water on and mix hot and cold until I get the right temp, as close to the tank as possible.

Then I flip the valve and start filling the tank.

As the water is filling from the tap, I put a capful of Prime in the tank (I have a 55 tank and a 29 gallon tank) one capful treats 50 gallons. Minor overdosing on the 29 but Prime says that is perfectly safe.
__________________

__________________
hpiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 06:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by eAts
Those of you that use either the Aqueon or Python water changer, during a regular water change, do you fill the tank directly from the tap? Do you condition the water in the tank, both before the tap water is added then after the tank is refilled? I'm just wondering the best way to go about this, but was hoping to not have to deal with the buckets of water. Thanks, Let me know of your experiences with either of these products.
I add Prime to the tank as I'm filling it back up. This way the fresh water coming into the tank can mix it all up.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 06:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
eAts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dunlap, Il
Posts: 188
Alright, Thanks for the responses. I searched earlier didn't find an answer, then searched again right after posting and sure enough, find it. Thanks!
__________________
eAts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 07:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Thats what I do also. Really easy.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqueon, python, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.