Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-09-2013, 10:15 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
I didn't start with a sump did it after around two months. YouTube overflow box and you will find videos of how to do all of it. The bigger the sump the better but if all you can do is a 10 that will work. What a sump does for you is adds water volume and hides all of the equipment so you can enjoy your tank.
__________________

__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:21 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
The return will just hang over the edge. You will run a tube from the return pump to the return. Here is a photo of mine. You will also see the overflow box behind the tank.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130109_192050.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	61.4 KB
ID:	143071
__________________

__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:22 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
Gotcha. Ill have to look into it. Now I guess I should unplug the overflow at one point pretending there is an outage and make sure nothin overflows ?
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:23 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
Or unplug the return rather.
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:27 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
When doing water changes I unplug my return pump and when the overflow empties all that it can out of the tank it will drain an extra 2 gallons in to my sump. So yes you will need enough room for a few extra gallons in your sump.
__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:31 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
chbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 161
Yes. I made my returns out of PVC pipe but the concept is just like the picture. One thing to do is to drill small holes in the pipes just below the water line in the display tank. When the pump stops like in a power out the small hole breaks the siphone and you won't drain your dt into the sump. Also don't fill the sump too full until you make sure it can handle what will get sucked down if the return fails.

As for how you have it set up is your call ( what's in the sump.). I have my drain from the dt and skimmer in the first section, rubble live rock chaeto and heaters in the second and the last is the return pump and area for my temp and ph probe.

Some people do sand beds in sumps some dont. It's all up to you. You don't even need to make chambers if you don't want to especially with a hob skimmer. The only reason you might is if you get a lot of bubbles from your drain tube or skimmer then filter socks can minimize this so your return pump wot by suck them into the dt.

I agree that if you properly brace the filled dt you can probably remove the center brace to get a 20l. I had to do that to mine to get a 20l in my stand.
__________________
chbix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:38 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
Look up Reef tank overflow styles and plumbing overview on YouTube. You will learn about how it all works.
__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:43 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
Thank you so much guys. I'm on my way home from work now I'm gunna take a look and do some measurements. Ill keep you posted
__________________

__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.