ATO for a 55g tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TommyP

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey AA,

I have a 55g Saltwater tank, some of you may have breezed through my build but I do not have a sump. I manually top off my tank w/ rodi water when I notice it getting low. I beleive this happens 1 or 2 times a week. I want to get some sort of an ATO but it would have to be like a HOB? I'm not sure how this works. What I think:

A pump sucks water out of say, a 5g bucket under or to the side of my tank and fills the display tank when it starts to get low. That's the only thing I think I know about it. Please fill me in, what parts, what to do, opinions. Keep manually doing top offs? Thanks in advance

- Tommy

With out a sump the only way would be to have the sensor and line go directly into the display tank

That's what I was thinking but I'm new at this and never used an ATO before. I'm not sure what products / equipment I need

I'm not too experienced with ATO's either, but I don't know how well a float switch would work in a DT, considering the turbulence on the surface of the tanks...

That's true... ****. I guess manual top offs are going to have to do for now. I have the tank and stand already in place for a couple months or else id try to so some sort of a sump set up. Can't move that stand for anything

Maybe a small one under the stand? Even like a small trash can or rubber made container will do...plus more water is always better

Ill have to measure the dimensions of the door openings tomorrow and see what I can fit. If I put an ato under the cabinet wouldn't the sensor be a little iffy from the current on the top of the water? Or we're you talking about a make-shift sump under the cabinet?