Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-08-2013, 06:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
ATO for a 55g tank.

Hey AA,

I have a 55g Saltwater tank, some of you may have breezed through my build but I do not have a sump. I manually top off my tank w/ rodi water when I notice it getting low. I beleive this happens 1 or 2 times a week. I want to get some sort of an ATO but it would have to be like a HOB? I'm not sure how this works. What I think:

A pump sucks water out of say, a 5g bucket under or to the side of my tank and fills the display tank when it starts to get low. That's the only thing I think I know about it. Please fill me in, what parts, what to do, opinions. Keep manually doing top offs? Thanks in advance

- Tommy
__________________

__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:22 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
Any opinions on what I should do?
__________________

__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:28 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
chbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 161
With out a sump the only way would be to have the sensor and line go directly into the display tank
__________________
chbix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
That's what I was thinking but I'm new at this and never used an ATO before. I'm not sure what products / equipment I need
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:55 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
I'm not too experienced with ATO's either, but I don't know how well a float switch would work in a DT, considering the turbulence on the surface of the tanks...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:14 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
That's true... ****. I guess manual top offs are going to have to do for now. I have the tank and stand already in place for a couple months or else id try to so some sort of a sump set up. Can't move that stand for anything
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
chbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 161
Maybe a small one under the stand? Even like a small trash can or rubber made container will do...plus more water is always better
__________________
chbix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
Ill have to measure the dimensions of the door openings tomorrow and see what I can fit. If I put an ato under the cabinet wouldn't the sensor be a little iffy from the current on the top of the water? Or we're you talking about a make-shift sump under the cabinet?
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:56 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
chbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 161
I was talking about putting a make shift sump under the cabinet and putting the ATo there. But then you would need to figure out what you could use, get an overflow and drain pipe to flow water down to the sump, then a return pump and then the ATo....if you want a sump or refuge anyway it's worth doing but if its just for ATo it's a lot of stuff.
__________________
chbix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:13 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
Exactly yea. At first I wanted to just do HOB filter & skimmer like I have now because it was less expensive and I'm not great plumber. Now I wish I would of used a sump to have a fuge as well and just make it right, not that HOB is not right but it would of been more options w/ sump that's all. I'm not going to do the sump just for the ATO but if I find out someway to make fit a sump somehow under the stand its going to happen
__________________

__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.