Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-04-2011, 09:41 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
no, you can't do that with a mag, since it's not a self priming pump.when you shut the pump off, the water that is inside the tube below the pump will go back into the water tank and the next time it goes on, it will suck air.
they also are not recommended for external use.
mag drives aren't that good anyway. i have no idea why they are the popular pump.


you can run it through the wall, into the bathroom, as you said above. you wouldn't want to attach bulkhead fittings to the wall though. it would be like running any other pipe through the wall. they sell plastic ornamental things that make the sheet rock look nice around pipes.
i think that is your best idea so far. then you only need a weak pump like a mj1200, and you can attach the R.O.D.I. right to the bathroom sink and store it under the cabinet with the reservoir.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 10:11 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Do you guys run any powerheads in your top off containers or is that water just sitting there being used?

If I can do that I think it's the way I'll go. We're actually planning on remodeling our bathroom here in the next couple months and I'll be tearing it down to the studs. That'd be a good time to figure out what plumbing for my top off
__________________

__________________
NickRummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 10:16 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i do. always have the water moving and a lid over it so no light gets in.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 02:58 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I have a power head in the trashcan to move water to my tank. The top lid is on tight and I cut a hole just large enough for the tube coming out.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refugium placed over Display Tank capj64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 06-06-2010 02:33 PM
Reservoir for RO/Di SWnewby General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-21-2010 05:18 PM
Display Tank Covers Patroklos Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 09-18-2008 06:58 PM
Acrylic fresh water reservoir for my SW tank austinsdad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 04-13-2006 06:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.