Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-03-2011, 04:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
ATO setup with reservoir 12' below display tank?

I kind of blew off the ATO thing while setting up my new tank thinking it wouldn't be a big deal. Well I'm adding water CONSTANTLY to keep the last chamber in my sump filled and it's driving me nuts. I tried ignoring that this last chamber was going to be small for my setup but hey, live and learn I guess.

I've read up on the automatic top offs and it all makes sense but my problem is I have no room for a reservoir near my tank.

I did place my tank in the living room almost directly above where my Ro/DI unit and all my water holding containers are so my thought is to use a hole that's in the floor already (was big enough for a cable tv plug) and run a 1/4" line (like what's used on RO/DI units) down to the basement. Down there I could have a 10g tank setup right now with my RO/DI water. I could setup my return pump in that 10g and pump the water back up to my sump.

My main question is what kind of pump could I use to get water up to my sump if it's a good 10-12' above the reservoir? Maxi-jets say around 3' max head height but would that be different if I'm only using 1/4" line?

I tried doing some reading on the forum but the search won't look for three letter words like "top" and "off"
__________________

__________________
NickRummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 06:12 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
A dosing pump should handle that just fine, though they are not meant for constant duty. You could try using the maxijet just to see if it will work, but I doubt it.
Also check out the BRS dosing pumps.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 06:28 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
12' is a long way to push. I wonder if those dosing pumps (even the BRS ones) will do it. My BRS pumps get really hot on 15 minute duty cycles, not sure how they'd do in this application.

Also, would it be better for them to push or pull?
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 06:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
they will do it, but it's definitely the wrong pump for the job. the pump you are going to need is going to run you well over 100 bucks i'm afraid. can't you just put a container in a cabinet somewhere and run that little piece of tubing sideways instead of up a floor?

( for neilanh) look here...this dosing pump has a max head of 30 feet-
http://www.marinedepot.com/dosing_pu..._doser-ap.html
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 06:47 PM   #5
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
I see now the BRS ones claim 20' as well. Never thought a peristaltic pump could do that.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 07:55 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Yep,

"The BRS Top Off Doser is a peristaltic pump with a slow predictable flow rate that ensures gradual and subtle changes to water chemistry which makes it ideal for auto top off applications. It is completely silent and handles head pressure well. BRS Top Off Doser Specs
  • 20ft max head
  • 50mL/min flow rate is ideal for most top off systems
  • Will not back siphon"
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 08:56 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
What's the deal with the dosing top off pumps? Do you just put them on a timer or something?

I really have no room at all....... There is nothing near by that I can hide things in either. The tank is on a wall which has the bathroom on the other side. I wonder if I could hide something in the cabinets in the bathroom and plumb through the wall....... Do they make any bulk head type fittings for walls?
__________________
NickRummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 09:05 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I'd strongly suggest using more than a 10g tank for your top off water. I prefer to use a reservoir that'll give me at least a week and a half before I have to re-fill it. You should be able to gauge how fast a 10g will empty from your recent and frequent top-offs you described.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 09:10 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
That's what I'm trying to do now but since I'm still moving things around and getting the tank started it's hard to gauge exactly what I'm using. I use a 20g breeder for mixing water so I'm planning on building a stand for (2) 20g breeders. One for RO/DI water and the other for mixed.

Should the tank with RO/DI be covered or can it be covered I should say? Same with mixed water? I want to get a couple canopies for them to keep junk out.

If I go with a Mag Drive motor do they have to be submersed to work or can they draw water into them from a couple feet away? What if I were to mount the pump on floor joist so it only has a head height of say 3' max and then it would draw water from the reservoir that's say 3' below it?
__________________
NickRummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 09:31 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
The dosing pumps should be on a timer. You probably want it set for twice a day to keep up with the top offs.

I use a 45 gallon BRUTE trash can for my top off water. That lasts 3 -4 weeks for my 125. As this will be in the basement, why not use something like a BRUTE 20 gallon trashcan for the top off water?
BRUTE by Rubbermaid are all food grade so don't have to worry about leaching, even from RODI water.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refugium placed over Display Tank capj64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 06-06-2010 02:33 PM
Reservoir for RO/Di SWnewby General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-21-2010 05:18 PM
Display Tank Covers Patroklos Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 09-18-2008 06:58 PM
Acrylic fresh water reservoir for my SW tank austinsdad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 04-13-2006 06:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.