Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-26-2014, 11:27 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 572
Bacteria in a bottle?

Marineland® Total Care Aquarium Bacteria

I've heard of people using this with mixed reviews, and while I'm not looking to add fish for another couple weeks, I want to make sure it cycles right. It has been going for a month so far and holding 8PPM ammonia. Filter, tank "body," and initial water come from a tank that was already cycled, and were kept circulating in a bucket with my existing fish. Now I have my new substrate with plants, and only one or two water changes trying to get the biofilter built up.
__________________

__________________
lectraplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 03:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
Couldn't hurt, I use Fluval stuff, what size tank? If all the water and the filter came from a cycled tank it should be going faster than that?

I filled my 150 up with like 20g of tank water 80 of tap, 8 bags of eco complete and some rock put the HOB filter from my old tank on there and 2 fake plants, put my pictus in it like 2 weeks later, then a week later my rainbows its been about 2 months and everything is fine and I have it fully stocked.
__________________

__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 04:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 572
I expected a cycle to be unnecessary. Same water, same filter, same fish, same everything but the substrate from a cycled tank. The filter was moved full of water, and just long enough to remove the intake line, hang on bucket, and replace intake. (Less than a minute)
__________________
lectraplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 09:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by lectraplayer View Post
I expected a cycle to be unnecessary. Same water, same filter, same fish, same everything but the substrate from a cycled tank. The filter was moved full of water, and just long enough to remove the intake line, hang on bucket, and replace intake. (Less than a minute)
And the decorations? Just not substrate? Yeah all the bacteria should still be in the filter idk why you have so much ammonia?

What are you fish in now and what fish do you have? An what size tank is it? The hardest part of cycling is getting it started and you have ammonia so the bacteria to convert it should be there. What are your nitrites at?
__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 10:34 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,382
You should be fine with all that established hardware???? 8 ppm is crazy high? You sure you're testing correctly?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 01:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 572
The only decorations I had in it are live plants which I planted back. Could Quickcrete Co. have put some type of bactericide I didn't get out well this time? I set up my 29g several months ago from the same bag of sand with no probles though.

My nitrites are not rising as quickly as I would like either though. I started with 8 tetras, 4 molys, and 1 otto in this tank, and I did daily water changes for the first couple days to keep ammonia down below .25. When it soon befame clear that my cycle was broken and ammonia was becoming more present, I removed everybody to my 29g and "let it run," only changing enough water to keep ammonia between 4 and 8ppm. Until the other day, I haven't touched this tank in two and a half weeks except tg test daily.
__________________
lectraplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 07:45 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 572
Uphate: I have added that "stuff" on the OP a couple days ago but today still my ammonia is 4 and my nitrite is staying AWOL, as is nitrate. PH is 6.7. I have some water in the back I'm testing to check my supply perameters. So far, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate are not to be found and pH is 6.5 in this batch.

While I'm thinking about it, could an algae bloom be tampering with the cycle?
__________________
lectraplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 12:16 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 10
Your PH is most likely your culptrit. Two things - below 7.0 ammonia is in the ammonium form. Less harmful to fish in that state..but not ideal to turn a cycle. The good bacteria you desire multiplies best at 7.0 - ideally 7.2. Raise the PH and you just might find a turn in very short order. Good Luck!

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
drbepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 12:19 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 572
Will that do it? I'm reading that it takes a pH below 6.0 to halt the cycle.
__________________
lectraplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 12:19 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 10
Also...plant matter..and algae...love ammonium which - while not the whole answer I'm sure - is contributing your algae bloom

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
drbepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bacteria, bottle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinion on Bacteria in a BOTTLE??? Bates1990 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 09-18-2012 07:03 PM
Bacteria in a bottle? eduguy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 22 09-11-2012 12:01 PM
Cycling wit Fish and Bacteria in a Bottle VictoriaC Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 60 05-01-2012 12:47 AM
May have found a good use for "bacteria in a bottle" blert Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 10-25-2011 11:12 PM
What do you mean by unstable bio filter w/ bacteria in a bottle? sobersteve323 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 08-01-2011 02:53 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.