Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-11-2013, 10:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Taiken5968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 695
Bacteria on filter media

I am wondering how long it will take for significant bacteria to grow on new media in an established tank. I want to put a new peace of media in my tank so that I can take te other one out and clean it. It is clogged with gunk to the point that water comes out o the over flow. I will run the new media in a different filter then switch it over.
__________________

__________________
Taiken5968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,802
What kind of filter are you using?

Not sure how long it would take to establish the new media (sorry).

What you can do in the mean time is that during your next water change, take out the clogged media and shake, squeeze, and rinse it in the water that was just removed from the tank.
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Taiken5968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
What kind of filter are you using?

Not sure how long it would take to establish the new media (sorry).

What you can do in the mean time is that during your next water change, take out the clogged media and shake, squeeze, and rinse it in the water that was just removed from the tank.
Aqua tech. I have done that several times. It doesn't quit get all the gunk out. I figure if can get bacteria started on the one, and then boil the sh** out of the other one.
__________________
Taiken5968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,802
I am not familiar with that brand but it appears that it is a cartridge style HOB filter. Since you have two filters running what you might be able to do (space permitting) is take out the media from the old filter and replace it with a new cartridge. Next (of course after you have tested for sufficient space) cut the old media in half and place each half in the filters so that the current runs through the old media before running through the new media. This should help seed the new media.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Taiken5968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 695
I don't want to throw away or cut up the old media. I'll just clean it and reuse it. I have been running the new media for a while so it may be ok.
__________________
Taiken5968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:43 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Give it 2 weeks that should be fine
__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:45 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taiken5968 View Post
I don't want to throw away or cut up the old media. I'll just clean it and reuse it. I have been running the new media for a while so it may be ok.
I see. When you do clean the first one, keep an eye on the water parameters and do some water changes as needed to keep the levels in check.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Taiken5968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post

I see. When you do clean the first one, keep an eye on the water parameters and do some water changes as needed to keep the levels in check.
I have done two this week so far. I had moved around some decorations and made my water foggy. My weekly water change is tomorrow. So I will do that one, and wait a day then do another one. I'll also add some special blend.
__________________

__________________
Taiken5968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bacteria, filter, filter media, media

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.