Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-10-2005, 09:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to qhrisnd Send a message via MSN to qhrisnd
Ball Valves

Does anyone know of a "normally open" electric (or magnetic) ball valve that when the power would turn off, the valve would snap back to a "closed" position?
__________________

__________________
qhrisnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 11:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
its not really electic or magnetic. but a check valve could do that.
__________________

__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 12:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to qhrisnd Send a message via MSN to qhrisnd
Basically what I'm looking for is something to prevent overflow in case of a power outtage, on my return line from the water pump in my sump.

Do they make check valves that big?
__________________
qhrisnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 03:11 PM   #4
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by qhrisnd
on my return line from the water pump in my sump.
Drill a small hole(s) just below the water line on the tank side of the return line. This will create a "syphon break" when the water line falls below the holes it will start sucking air and break the syphon preventing backflow.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 06:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to qhrisnd Send a message via MSN to qhrisnd
Steve:

We tried doing this, but it makes a really obnoxious noise, and doesn't stop the flow completely. It still trickles, because of the overflow box we have, and how high it sits in the water.
__________________
qhrisnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 06:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
shouldnt the hole be under the water most of the time?
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 06:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to qhrisnd Send a message via MSN to qhrisnd
Quote:
Originally Posted by krap101
shouldnt the hole be under the water most of the time?
They are under the water, when the tank is running, and the pumps are operational.

My concern is when the power goes out, or we shut off the pumps for maintanence, that the pump return line will still siphon back some, and slowly trickle back into the sump
__________________
qhrisnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 06:32 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 192
I did what Steve recommended and it works perfectly. But, I drilled the hole slighty ABOVE the water line. The reason I did that is because I like to turn off my return pump when I feed my tank. I don't want food getting drained into the sump where it is not needed. The hole above the water line prevents much water at all from getting siphoned into the sump. That way I can keep my waterline as high as I like it. The hole that I drilled is very small so very little water comes out of it when the return pump is on, but my return pump is only 300 gph. I guess if you had a much more powerful return pump, more water might get squirted out of the hole and could get a little messy.
__________________
IndyReefMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 06:52 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
you can put a hole in the pump line 2
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 06:59 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to qhrisnd Send a message via MSN to qhrisnd
How would you put a hole in the return line from the pump? Wouldn't that squirt water all over everywhere on the wall or somethin?
__________________

__________________
qhrisnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solenoid Valves theotheragentm Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 03-28-2007 08:34 PM
Shut off valves for RO DI unit? Before or after? theedudenator Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-16-2006 02:22 AM
Check Valves for CO2 fish_4_all Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 06-24-2006 03:19 PM
Oceansmotions Valves mp3z24 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 12-19-2005 02:48 PM
Quality gang valves? WildFrisco Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 03-08-2004 02:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.