Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-13-2004, 05:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tustin,Ca
Posts: 754
Ballast problems

I have a CoralVue 250MH elec. ballast. In bench testing the wiring I discovered a problem. When I plug in the ballast, it fires up on the second time I plug it in. The first time I plug in nothing, then unplug and replug in and away we go. Is there some circuit in the ballast that is not being reset or something. I am going to be installing on tank this weekend and I would like to figure it out first. I will try hooking it up to a timer tonight and see what happens. Guess I could put four pins in the timer if need be, but that's kinda like adding Phosoguard to your tank
__________________

__________________
Let's get a line wet!
got bait? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 05:39 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I can't help you with the wiring, but I've had a couple of ballasts that would fire the first time everytime with a timer, but not necessarily when I plugged it in. Try the timer and see, that could possibly solve the problem, but personally, I'd make them replace the ballast.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 05:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tustin,Ca
Posts: 754
Thanks Kevin,
Will try the timer test.
__________________
Let's get a line wet!
got bait? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 01:03 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tustin,Ca
Posts: 754
Tried the timer and had worse results.
__________________
Let's get a line wet!
got bait? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 07:23 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Make them replace the ballast!!
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 11:44 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
i'm no electrical genius but that sounds like a faulty ballast. It should fire right away. probably just the 1 in 1,000 that doesn't get made perfectly...that or damaged after it left the factory.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 01:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tustin,Ca
Posts: 754
repsonse from CoralVue

For those with the same ballast problems. Below is the response from CoralVue to my problem. I will post the results of my changes this weekend.

can you tell me if you have the newer style silver ballast that has 2 built in fans in the ballast? If you have that ballast, make sure that you do not have any excess output cable from the ballast tied in a bundle. The ballast create an RF noise and when it is looped around itself and tied with a tie wrap it creates interference and the ballast will do starge things. If you have the older style brown ballast send it back and I will replace it for you with a new model.
__________________
Let's get a line wet!
got bait? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 01:24 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tustin,Ca
Posts: 754
sorry bad font choice. in previous message

can you tell me if you have the newer style silver ballast that has 2 built in fans in the ballast? If you have that ballast, make sure that you do not have any excess output cable from the ballast tied in a bundle. The ballast create an RF noise and when it is looped around itself and tied with a tie wrap it creates interference and the ballast will do starge things. If you have the older style brown ballast send it back and I will replace it for you with a new model.
__________________
Let's get a line wet!
got bait? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 06:54 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Um...which ballast do you have?
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 10:16 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tustin,Ca
Posts: 754
The newer model with the fans. 250W MH elect. ignition. I do have 15ft. wall-ballast
and 12ft. ballast-bulb.
__________________

__________________
Let's get a line wet!
got bait? is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ballast

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is a ballast? fishmonkey General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 07-23-2009 01:02 PM
MH ballast tamra&steven General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 02-22-2009 10:01 AM
Can i use this ballast? DragonForce DIY Projects 4 09-21-2005 04:22 AM
T5 ballast ellisz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-23-2005 03:20 PM
pc ballast popothemailman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 05-15-2005 09:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.