Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-12-2014, 03:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Beamswork LED Lighting?

I've never used LED lighting in a tank before and I'm looking to switch to it. My tank is a 60 gallon freshwater (48" x 24 " x 12"). I currently don't have plants but I soon wish to change that. I know very little about tank lighting, so I need some advice. I came across a Beamswork LED light that was on sale on Aquatraders: LED Aquarium Lighting Freshwater Bright

Can anyone give me any information about this light? Would it work for a planted tank with basic beginners plants, such as Water Wisteria, Java Fern or Amazon Swords? Will the light be bright enough and penetrate all the way through? I realize it's not a "name brand" such as Marineland but it's also a lot less expensive.

Thanks for your opinions!

Old 10-15-2014, 03:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

They have several lights. That on is for marine tanks. They have a version with 1 watt diodes which would work well.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Old 10-15-2014, 04:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

got a beamsworks with my freshwater, just in the process of setting up the tank, but it looks like it will do the job fine (white and blue) http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...p;d=1413376062.

Make sure you get the version that you can plug the Beamsworks timer module into it.
Old 10-15-2014, 06:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie

How do you know if the light will work with the timer?
Old 10-16-2014, 01:50 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

If you get the one without a timer you could just plug a 5 dollar timer to it

Old 10-16-2014, 08:57 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobykourtney View Post