Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-29-2003, 10:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Beginner Filter: Eheim 2213 Canister vs. Emperor 280

This is my first post and any and all help is very much appreciated! I am a beginner that just purchased my first aquarium. It's a 30 gal. and plan to set up a basic tropical freshwater community tank.

Purchased a Eheim classic 2213 canister filter on a great boxing day sale at BigAl's ... but am wondering if I bought the right filter for my tank? A friend swears by the Emperor 280.

I noticed that the Eheim 2213 is rated for 116 gal. per hour and have been reading that I should have ten times water turnover per hour - so is the Eheim enough? Should I return it and get the Emperor... or do I get both? I notice that a lot of posts have both canister and HOB.

Do I have enough, too much or too little filtration?

Old 12-30-2003, 12:20 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

What fish do you have in your tank? Many fish like high currents and others prefer still waters. Another thing to take into account is the amount of fish in your tank. Is it over stocked or under stocked? If it is over stocked the extra filtration is good.

1-225gal \ 1 60gal hex \ 17-20gal \ 7-10gal in storage
fish_doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 12:24 AM   #3

Thanks for the reply Dave! I am just starting out and have not yet even cycled my 30 gal. tank. As of yet there are no fish... but I plan to start slow, cycle and apply the one inch rule. Given this any ideas?
Old 12-30-2003, 12:45 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak