Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-29-2010, 08:30 AM   #21
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Don't use bioballs in a canister. They are designed for wet/dry purposes and have no surface area compared to biomedias made for submerged use. I know at least one company makes them for their canisters and it is no more than a buzz word.

I recommend Seachem Matrix for a submerged biomedia.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 09:39 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Floyd R Turbo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,682
Hmmm..got ceramic rings and bio-balls in my Marineland C-360. I have no problems, but the tank is also 2 yrs old. I've had as many as 90 fish in there at once (short term) and never saw a problem. Now I'm thinking I should replace all the balls with rings or something else.
__________________

__________________
My tanks: 120 Reef w/L2 Algae Scrubber, 60 Reef Pond w/floating Algae Scrubber, 40 Breeder Reef w/L2 UAS Tester Algae Scrubber
I maintain: 144 SW Reef w/L2 Algae Scrubber | 200 SW Reef w/L4 Algae Scrubber
Special knowledge: Algae Scrubbers, Acrylic Fabrication
Floyd R Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 11:16 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Union, MO
Posts: 1,234
You bet Mark!
__________________
sliderfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 11:21 PM   #24
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
The Marineland Rep showed me the canister when it came out, gave me the whole presentation. Even he noticed how unporous the ceramic media seemed. I wouldn't use either of their biomedia (that is another clue, they should give you the best media they can come up with, not two). I would slowly switch over to Seachem Matrix (which can supposedly allow for denitrification).
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 11:55 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Floyd R Turbo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,682
I've heard varying reports on Matrix's capabilities to denitrify. I think their literature states to put it in a 'low flow' area, or maybe that's de*Nitrate. They're similar. Anyways something about pores being too small and clogging easily.

A question for you though about bio-balls - if bacteria colonize on all surface areas in a system (substrate, glass/acrylic walls, plants, etc) then why wouldn't they colonize on all surfaces of bio-balls, submerged or not? I thought it was all about surface area, and while porousness would increase that, holes get clogged and become no longer porous so what's the point of that?

I guess it comes down to the biological capacity of a system, and my C-360 has handled a massive bio-load with no problem. So what is the huge importance of having the 'best' bio-media, if a bacterial colony will only grow as large as the bio-load that feeds it?
__________________
My tanks: 120 Reef w/L2 Algae Scrubber, 60 Reef Pond w/floating Algae Scrubber, 40 Breeder Reef w/L2 UAS Tester Algae Scrubber
I maintain: 144 SW Reef w/L2 Algae Scrubber | 200 SW Reef w/L4 Algae Scrubber
Special knowledge: Algae Scrubbers, Acrylic Fabrication
Floyd R Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 12:07 AM   #26
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Per volume a bioball is pretty low compared to a porous biomedia. Seachem Matrix is supposed to have larger holes and channels (compared to other brands' similar porous ceramic biomedias) allowing them to remain available to bacteria, not getting clogged up.

Bacteria will grow where conditions are best, in our tanks this is in the filter because the flow provides so much oxygen and food compared to other areas in the tank (like substrate, glass, decor, etc.). Not that there are no bacteria elsewhere in the tank, but effectively all the nitrifying bacteria will be in the filter.

Denitrification will occur where oxygen is low, this will be inside the pieces of Matrix, similar to live rock.

I prefer to be on the safe side. I would rather have more biomedia than is NEEDED so that if something happens I have a little room for error. The last thing you want is to have just enough, clean the filter and crash the tank because you killed just a little too much bacteria.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 11:11 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chester-le-Street, UK
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
Don't use bioballs in a canister. They are designed for wet/dry purposes and have no surface area compared to biomedias made for submerged use. I know at least one company makes them for their canisters and it is no more than a buzz word.
.
My Tetratec EX700 has a tray just for bioballs.
__________________
135 litre (35 US gallons) 6 Black Widow Tetra; 3 Mollies; 3 Bronze Cory; 1 Pygmy Cory; 6 Gold Barbs
27 litre (7 US gallons) 6 Guppies.
Mark Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 06:04 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Palm Bay Fl
Posts: 4,076
Send a message via Yahoo to oscarbreeder
I have a 180 gal oscar tank and I run 2 ocean clear canister filters and they do a great job at keeping the tank clean even with these messy fish.
__________________
Please remember to vote for Aquarium Advice!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v328/kyman_33/sig.jpg
oscarbreeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 06:51 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 96
My tank is 187 gallons and I use the Eheim Pro 2075, which has given good results. The filter is large and efficient and also totally quiet - you scarcely know it is running. Filter pads have to be changed every month or so, but otherwise it has been trouble-free and effective. Check out Marine Depot on the internet for a large selection of good-quality filters.
__________________
Laurence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 02:55 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
mikeymike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Early this year i invested in the new Eheim Pro3's (2071) and find they are great. I never got into the Pro2's but im liking the way the now Pro3's work and so easy to disconnect
__________________

__________________
mikeymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filter media, freshwater, freshwater aquarium, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One large aquarium plant Big Dog Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 30 01-11-2011 04:39 AM
First Large Aquarium ReefSoldier Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 03-23-2009 03:18 PM
Large Aquarium Wanted vcorey04 Archive 2 08-07-2008 07:26 PM
Can you use pond filters on a large FW aquarium? FantailMermaid General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 08-24-2004 01:34 AM
Large aquarium and a pick up xander Aquaria Off-Topic 7 12-21-2003 06:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.