Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
View Poll Results: What do you think is the HOB filter?
Aqua-Tech 0 0%
Aqua Clear 10 50.00%
Penguin 3 15.00%
Emperor 3 15.00%
Whisper 1 5.00%
Any with bio-wheel 3 15.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-27-2005, 12:24 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Aberdeen, WA
Posts: 1,864
Best HOB filter for 10 gal

I have an Aqua-Tech power filter, model 5-15 that came with a tank set-up from wally world. How does it compare to Aquaclears, Emperors and Penguins as far as filtration and performance? I want to have proper filtration because I will be using this for breeder tanks for my C. trilineatus. Is there really that much difference between the Aqua-Tech and the other brands?
__________________

__________________
fish_4_all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 12:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
I chose the Aquaclear, but I really like the Penguin mini as well. The Aquaclear has a slight advantage in that it is quieter than the Penguin if that matters to you. I use a Penguin mini and Aquaclear 150 on a 20 gallon tank and both are really good HOBs. The Emperors are excellent filters (I have 3 of them), but since they only come in 2 sizes (280 gph and 400 gph) they would really be overkill in a 10 gallon. I haven't used the Whisper, but I have heard they aren't too great so I would be inclined not to buy one. When I had my 10 gallon tank set up I think the filter that came with it was the Aquatech, and I thought it was kind of junky. I ditched it and got my Penguin mini, which I later moved to my 20 gallon with the Aquaclear.

You can get an Aquaclear or Penguin for around $10-12 online and I think it would be a really good investment for your tank. If you don't want to mess with changing cartridges then get the Aquaclear- it comes with a big sponge that you can rinse off and use over and over. I use 2 Aquaclears and I"ve never replaced the sponges. I just rinse them in tankwater (NOT tapwater) about once a month during a water change. HTH
__________________

severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 03:48 PM   #3
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
AquaClear, for a combination of flow-rate, reliability, and media customability and volume.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 11:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Aberdeen, WA
Posts: 1,864
Well that's more what I needed to know. The uaquatech will work until I can get an Aquaclear. I have a planted tank so that eliminates the need for carbon, will have to remove my carbons on my undergravels as this could, and probably is why my plants don't do as well as I hoped.

My only question now, the mini or the next one up?
__________________
fish_4_all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 01:09 AM   #5
RoK
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,490
Send a message via AIM to RoK Send a message via MSN to RoK
Why does a planted tank eliminate the need for carbon?

I also do not like Whisper products, I've had nothing but bad experiences with them.
__________________
Current fish (includes all 3 running tanks): Polypterids, severums (of which I raised from eggs), gouramis, plecos (gold spot ones & a gurupa), loaches (zebras, yoyos, & a kubotai), macculocchi spotted silver dollars, an African butterfly fish, & Ctenopomas (a leopard & an ansorgii)
RoK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 01:25 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Aberdeen, WA
Posts: 1,864
The carbon removes CO2 doesn't it? I have carbon inserts still in my undergravels stacks but it could be the reason my plants don't seem to grow anywhere but on top. Am I wrong and is carbon a needed filter part for planted tank?

I read this while looking at 2 different sites looking for prices of HOB filters. They said the carbon removes CO2 so it wouldn't be needed in a plnted tank. I would be more than happy to see something explaining where and when active carbon filtration is or isn't needed.

My LFS doesn't even use them, but we both know about LFS and their sometimes not so good advice. Like being told my plants were for warm water and they weren't and the common thing of being given advice by one that is different than the next one you talk to.

Please set me straight if I am on the wrong path. By the end of the year I want to breed C. trilineatus and I want everything as good as I can get it before I get started.
__________________
fish_4_all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 10:49 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Lets set something straight: carbon is never NEEDED all the time. Carbon serves two purposes, removing odors, and absorbing some chemicals, mainly medications. It can also absorb/trap some fine particles that discolor your water.

None of my tanks ever run carbon.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 02:26 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 45
My Tank came with a whisper..BIG POS..Switched to the Aquaclear..and the water is so clear now..
__________________
mjkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 04:39 PM   #9
RoK
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,490
Send a message via AIM to RoK Send a message via MSN to RoK
Do you only have sponges in the filter then malkore?
__________________
Current fish (includes all 3 running tanks): Polypterids, severums (of which I raised from eggs), gouramis, plecos (gold spot ones & a gurupa), loaches (zebras, yoyos, & a kubotai), macculocchi spotted silver dollars, an African butterfly fish, & Ctenopomas (a leopard & an ansorgii)
RoK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 06:33 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
I don't use carbon in my Aquaclears either, unless I am removing a med or something. I just use the sponge block and the "Biomax" (little ceramic bits for the bacteria to grow on) and my water is fine. Good luck with your breeding project!
__________________

severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, hob, hob filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Advice... HOB Skimmer and HOB Filter ferchoz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-15-2009 04:35 PM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
HOB Filter in 10 gal Feynman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-19-2004 12:50 PM
HOB filter choices for 10 gal General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-16-2004 11:33 PM
wet/dry filter vs penguin HOB filter SilviaGTO General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-19-2004 11:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.