best small filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DepotFish

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Little Depot the goldfish is outgrowing her tank and I'm getting a bigger tank in a week or so. Does anybody have any suggestions on a good filter that is small and simple? I'm in a dorm room so I don't want a big elaborate setup, and I'll probably change the water often anyway but I want a filter in the new tank. I have no knowledge of what types of filters are out there as I've never had one in with my fish but I know I don't want charcoal and cotton like my mom's tank has. Is there any other kind even?

Aqua Clear makes many filters for different sizes of tanks. You don't have to use carbon in the filter, you can use the sponge that comes with it and filter floss which is pure polyester batting. It can be purchased from walmart as pillow filling, as long as there are no additives in it. I have 2 of these filters and find them very easy to maintain and clean.

She's in a five gallon, I know its small for a goldfish but she was small enough until this year, I recently took her out of the pond. She's only in it in winter and then in a outdoor pond in summer. I think maybe just a longer tank, ten or twenty gallons.

For a 20 Gallon you might try a Penguin 150B Power Filter (Marineland), they are for the most part top of the line. Since it's a gold fish, I might suggest the 200 model insted since it's a little stronger of a filter. If you want to get a larger tank, I might suggest getting the larger 350 model. They are cheaper then the Tetra Whisper models you find in most Walmart and pet stores, and a lot more effective.

Here are some links for the Penguin 150B / Penguin 200B / Penguin 350B