Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 05-12-2011, 02:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

POTM Champion
Bio Balls Good or Bad?

I recently had a conversation with a very knowledgeable marine aquarist and he told me to pull the bio balls out of my wet/dry filter. I believe he said that any food that gets through my mechanical filter will cause phosphates in my water. I asked him what I should replace them with and he said nothing is necessary in the dry chamber of a wet dry.

I am new to this, so can someone help me understand? If this is a problem, why are bio-balls sold with wet/drys?

5x5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 02:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
Send a message via MSN to Pizentios
i have read that the worry with bio balls is that they trap food etc like you said and in turn the food rots and cause your nitr(i/a)te levels to spike.

I tend to wonder though is there a difference with bio balls doing this from freshwater to salt?

Pizentios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 02:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

POTM Champion
There seems to be a lot of debate about bioballs. I think the main issue is that food particles get trapped and decay, where the CUC can't get to them. However, even is the CUC did eat it, they would release nitrates anyway. So perhaps it makes no difference. If you have a floss pad beforehand, debris shouldn't get to the bioballs anyway, then you can clean the filter.

My tanks: 46gal Amazon - 55gal Crabitat - 28gal SW - 29g Vampire Terrarium
My Fiddler Crab Site
Shave the Whales!
adeebm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 04:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict