Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-18-2005, 02:24 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Send a message via AIM to 4inchSandBed
BOWfront TANKS??

I am a Newbie to this forum

This might be a stupid question but, Im debating on whether or not to get a bow front tank because ive noticed that when u look at them the fish and water look distorted. Does this happen with all bow front tanks or am i seeing things? Thanks

DONT ever neglect your sand

Old 03-18-2005, 02:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

I think smaller bowfront tanks have more distortion than bigger ones, what size are you planning to get?

Old 03-18-2005, 02:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

Im planning on getting a 56 gallon corner bowfront this Sunday. But i dont wanna get dizzy everytime i look at the tank, i wanna be able to stare at it and enjoy it.
Old 03-18-2005, 10:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

I think the corner bows have even more distortion than the regular bows.
Old 03-18-2005, 12:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak

I have the 55 gallon AGA bowfront. I know what you mean with the distortion, but it's really not that bad. Sometimes it's like seeing them through a magnifying glass. Things can look very big.

However, that being said. The only reason I went with a corner unit was because I HAD to, in order to fit the tank in the only available spot I had for it. Had I had the option of buying a "regular" long 55g tank, I would have. Because 1.) It is more difficult to aqua scape with live rock and such. We are torn wether to go with the shape of the walls and put the rock in a V, or aquascape straight across and ignore the V. Does that make sense?