Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-18-2017, 08:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Angellove78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Hart,mi.
Posts: 304
Broke heater from water change

Did a water change in my 10 gallon Betta tank. Cracked my nice new heater from the water I was replacing. Had to do a big water change on this tank (new with fish in cycle) I got too close to the heater but the water temp wasn't much different. Maybe by 2 degrees. Cheap heater anyways. Conclusion: you pay double. Might as well get a good one. Oh, and don't dump the water by the heater when doing a big water change. Unplug it and wait for it to cool down. Oops!
__________________

__________________
Angellove78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 12:45 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Autumnsky's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 10,252
Sometimes a small power strip for the light, heater and anything else plugged in that should be off for a pwc or work in the tank. Just set a timer or something to remember to turn it back on. I have burned myself from an over heating heater I took out of a tank and forgot about, big oops.

Have tried the power strip before and it was convenient. Used it recently on my 72G tank when I do a canister filter pwc or clean out. Just need to remember to use it. It is easier than moving the heater down and up as you remove and add back the water!

Glad you didn't get hurt.
__________________

__________________

New to FW fish? First tank in a long time or EVER??? Need some info on keeping fish?
Start here - Aquarium Advice Article https://www.aquariumadvice.com/guide...ater-aquarium/

Community Rules
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...ork&page=rules

FW & SW
Favorite tank right now -12G PRL Shrimp
Autumnsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 01:21 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,736
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3999.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	249.9 KB
ID:	304451
On the right side is the power strip with ON/OFF toggle referred to in the previous post
Donít ask why the timers have different times. Oops
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 09:47 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Angellove78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Hart,mi.
Posts: 304
Yeah, my 10 gallon is still in the works. Not set up the way I'd like it to be yet. Still getting it cycled and trying to keep my Betta happy. The warmer and cleaner the tank, the happier he is. 80 degrees is pour happiness non-stop swimming. I watch him for hours. I'll be getting a strip plug. I just wanted to post my mistake for others. I got a back up heater. We're OK for now.
__________________
Angellove78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 10:15 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
GLOBAL1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 54
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171019_141406.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	304452individual switching sockets and a timer for lights, just turn the heater off and away you go!
__________________
GLOBAL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 08:40 PM   #6
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angellove78 View Post
Yeah, my 10 gallon is still in the works. Not set up the way I'd like it to be yet. Still getting it cycled and trying to keep my Betta happy. The warmer and cleaner the tank, the happier he is. 80 degrees is pour happiness non-stop swimming. I watch him for hours. I'll be getting a strip plug. I just wanted to post my mistake for others. I got a back up heater. We're OK for now.
I must have cracked a heater that way every 6 months for the longest time
now I keep it on the bottom of the back wall parallel to to the floor of tank
this way it's always submerged and hidden no matter how much water I take out
54seaweed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2017, 01:57 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Autumnsky's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 10,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by GLOBAL1 View Post
Attachment 304452individual switching sockets and a timer for lights, just turn the heater off and away you go!
Now that's a cool strip plug.
__________________

New to FW fish? First tank in a long time or EVER??? Need some info on keeping fish?
Start here - Aquarium Advice Article https://www.aquariumadvice.com/guide...ater-aquarium/

Community Rules
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...ork&page=rules

FW & SW
Favorite tank right now -12G PRL Shrimp
Autumnsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2017, 11:14 AM   #8
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,441
Wow - amazing gadgets there.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2017, 01:53 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
GLOBAL1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 54
I love a gadget, £14 for that switching strip plug, £5 for the switching multiple plug, never had an accident with heaters or filters 👍
__________________
GLOBAL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2017, 07:24 PM   #10
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,441
Broke heater from water change

On mine there is a RCD / GFI switch at wall (just in case), then a 6 plug powerboard that has 4 timers on it. I think it has:

Timer 1 - lights x 2.
Timer 2 - CO2 solenoid and 2 diffusers.
Timer 3 - canister filters x 2.
Timer 4 - internal filter and I think part of UV unit that I no longer run.

Plug 5 - air pump (not used).

Plug 6 - heaters x 2.

Never really missed a beat. Every so often a timer will stop working properly. Never been game to work out electricity use.
__________________

__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OOPS! i might have made a boo boo.. Evo8 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-27-2013 08:35 PM
Fromia boo-boo! herp_mommy Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 0 07-03-2013 10:46 AM
uh oh.. i did a boo boo DIY Projects 2 06-04-2005 05:20 PM
Did I make a Boo Boo?? Phiberop Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-05-2004 12:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.