build your own stand/canopy?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ditchdoctor81

Aquarium Advice Regular
I've been looking around at new aquariums & stands & I started looking for home made stands. Has anyone made one for themselves or know someone that has? I found a couple of sites that have plans & stuff. My dad has a full shop behind their house & he can build pretty much anything, & I have some experience, but he would be helping.

I've found http://saltaquarium.about.com/od/diystandscabinets/DIY_Cabinet_Stand_Plans.htm and http://www.garf.org/stand.html

I'm going to talk to my dad with it & see what he thinks. If I can save money by building my own stand/canopy I can get a little bit bigger aquarium & better equipment.

around a 125...a 72x18x21 is 125 gallons & one of the plans I found is for a stand that holds a 72"x18" frame.

A stand could be as simple as a plywood cube or as complicated as a fine piece of furniture....IMO most plans I have seen online are a bit overbuilt the garf plan is nothing more than a well constructed workbench with a plywood skin...This is not a bad thing...I'm not taking a shot...This is a very strong stand, easy the beginner to build with even the most basic tools,and the open design allows plenty of storage...it is how you skin the frame that could make it a great stand...