Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-17-2005, 09:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 23
Calcium Reactor

I have been running a calcium reactor for several days now and i see no rise in my calcium levels. Its at 300 (roughly). Co2 @ 10 Bubbles per min and effluent @ 60 per Min. Any suggestions?
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Acraman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 03:44 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
I've never run one myself, but IIRC, doesn't Ph affect it's efficiency? What are your current PH levels and what does the documentation for you unit say for how long before you can expect to see results?
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 04:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 23
I have been monitoring my PH, DKH and Ca once an hour. The first test at 10:45 am: 18 BPM - 60 DPM (effluent). Effluent PH = 6.3, PH = 7.9.
at 12:45 pm: 18 BPM - 120 DPM. Effluent PH = 6.4, PH = 8.1
The Effluent PH should be between 6.5 and 6.7, so it looks like i am going in the right direction. However my Ca is maintaining @ 300 and DKH @ 8

The manual says to start at 10 BPM (Co2) and 40 DPM (effluent) but does not say when to expect results.
__________________
Acraman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 05:48 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
Well I'm not sure if much of this will help you in adjusting your reactor, but it is very informative with plenty of hard data to back it up. The additional understanding of all the chemistry behind it, may help you to understand whats going on in there and therefore, hopefully, how to adjust it. Just trying to offer "something" since I've never used a reactor before so i have no first hand experience to offer advice.


Solving Calcium and Alkalinity Problems
http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/nov2002/chem.htm

The Chemical and Biochemical Mechanisms of Calcification
http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/apr2002/chem.htm

Calcium
http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/mar2002/chem.htm

What is Alkalinity?
http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issu.../chemistry.htm
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 09:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarineFlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 816
No I do not use a reactor and it may be normal for the thing to take hours - days to start working. (Remember, nothing good happens fast in a tank!) However, just as a general guide, if you are adding Ca, then its time to weigh in your mg levels. Make sure they are not depressed (Should be as close to NSW as possible, I like to see mine around 1350 ppm) Once your straight there, then you may consider bumping your alk up to around 9 or 10 dkh (Slowly of course) And try and maintain a ph of 8.2 +/- 1 (8.1, should be good). It is my opinion (and hey, who knows..) that you should get these levels at least corrected if needed (def raise the alk, your borderline depressed at 8 dkh) and then stable. After they are good and stable, re-apply the ca-reactor. But hey, thats just me..mr cautious ; ) Also, I am not sur eif the instructions say to test every hour..like watching water boil if you asked me (And you didn't) but I would give at least a couple hours and retest. (Since you are actually following the directions which is typically any man's 1st problem)

Either way, GL!
__________________
To fail to plan is to plan to fail.
MarineFlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 12:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 23
I appreciate the comments. As you can tell this Calcium Reactor is new to me as well. I was using Kalkwasser but it was driving my PH up way too high. After investigation I found that a Reactor would be what I need.
Your right PC, I may be following the instructions too closely. Thanks for the links BillyZ. I will keep you all posted. Thanks again
__________________

__________________
Acraman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calcium, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alkalinity and Calcium HIGH Calcium reactor not hooked up ye doughboydj Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-29-2005 01:35 PM
calcium reactor or kalkwasse reactor PABLO_V Archive 0 03-17-2005 12:23 AM
Still have to dose calcium with a calcium reactor? limitup Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 09-08-2004 09:48 AM
Kalk Reactor Advice "Rephrased Calcium Reactor" cj10488 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-24-2004 01:34 AM
best way to add calcium kalk or calcium reactor? pomme Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-02-2003 09:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.