Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 12-09-2011, 05:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McKinney, Tx
Posts: 3,548
Send a message via AIM to lyquidphyre
Can EcoComplete go bad?

I've had the same EcoComplete in my tanks since ~2004/2005 and it has been placed in various tanks since (also, I acquired it from someone else.. so I'm not sure how old it really is). I lost all my plants on this last move and I really want to re-establish the tank that has been plantless for the last two years but I want to make sure the EcoComplete is still "good"

If it can go "bad" is there anything I can add to the tank to re-establish it?


lyquidphyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 11:26 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
Xand3r's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
Posts: 103
I'm not really sure what you mean by "go bad;" However I can tell you that during these 5-6 years it may have lost its nutrients (that is if you don't use any ferts). EcoComplete is a porous material, it absorbs the fertilizers and pretty much anything you add to your aquarium. So if you lost your plants after you added the substrate you acquired from someone else there's a chance it had something, but if you had that substrate for a while without any problems there's the chance that you added something else that killed the plants, such as salt or a medication. If I were you, I would put all of the substrate in a 5 gallon bucket, add water and let it there for a while, then I would boil it or bake it just to make sure that there isn't anything. and then just add regular doses of fertilizer, with time it will reabsorb all the good stuff.

Xand3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 11:30 AM   #3
come get me tang police!
jetajockey's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
It eventually breaks down in time. As far as nutrients go, the initial ones in the product don't last very long at all.

If it were me I'd probably start with fresh material, but it'll probably be fine as it is.

I don't think that the plant loss was related to the tank, at least it doesn't read that way.
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is online now   Reply With Quote

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.