Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-28-2014, 10:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Can filter tubing run up through wall cabinet and then down?

Hi. I have never used a canister filter. My tank is on my kitchen counter and sits about 2" below a wall cabinet. Now I believe that I can not place the canister filter up above the tank in the wall cabinet as it is supposed to sit below the tank. I can place a canister filter under the tank/counter top, but would need to run the tube up from the tank into the wall cabinet and then can then turn down behind a false wall into my cabinet. Any reason why this would no work? Most canister setups have a "U" shaped pipe turning the tube directly down, I need it to go up 3"' or 4" then over and then down or the canister. Doable?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Wspanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 11:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
As with any in wall plumbing, make sure all connections are true and water tight, no electrical is within a few inches, if for any reason it does leak there is a quick shut off. Than ask yourself is there any other option than burying this in my wall? Maybe a cover if sorts? A PVC pipe cut In half and painted?
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 11:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Sorry, No plumbing or canister tubes would run through a wall or drywall. It is just kitchen cabinets. The tubes would need to run up through a cabinet and then over and dowm through a cabinet. Most canisters state that the tubes must run straight from aquarium to filter.
__________________
Wspanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 11:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Ya, just make sure the tubes are not tubing in anything sharp or abrasive, good luck!
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cabinet, filter, tubing, wall

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does it hurt the HOB filter to run if power goes off then back on? bobc4d Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 05-10-2012 09:12 PM
Safe to run equipment through dishwasher Finatic Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 10-13-2006 12:18 AM
Can i put my sump through a wall, in the garage? bawla47 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 06-06-2005 01:58 PM
How Long do I run Carbon Through My Filters Ater Medicating Fish Breath Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 5 09-23-2004 10:00 PM
To run or not to run....Protein Skimmer Avi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-13-2004 05:58 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.