Can i get brighter bulb for light?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishlover3578

Aquarium Advice FINatic
This light is said to go on a 20 gal but I got it used and put on 29 gal. It has a15 watt bulb in it tht gives purplish light

image-3746996153.jpg

Is it saw to up watt and how much could I go?

image-1722599902.jpg

I'm no expert on lights but you could change it for a different colour(temperature) light. A bright white bulb would make a big difference. It could be a 'plant' light you have in at the moment. I wouldn't exceed the recommended strength(wattage) bulb. Is there reflectors in the light unit already??

No reflector and it said plant
Yeah go for a bright white bulb so. Don't exceed the recommended wattage. Could damage the ballast and lead to it burning out and/or causing a fire!!
Measure the inside of the light unit and check out your LFS or Ebay/Amazon for a reflector. You might be lucky and get one made for your unit or you could get a universal one and cut it to size. With these two options, you should notice a big difference in the light output. Some manufactures claim their reflectors increase light output by 50%!!!

I'm not sure what kind it is ... Got it in a trade ... Don't know what highest wattage it takes either ... Ca I use tin foil as a reflector? I only have light on when in room I never seen reflectors at Petsmart or Petco ... I could check I can't afford much right now ... It is perfecto brand ... I dot know how to get the bulb out... I switched t to 20 gal which is wht it originally was for but I don't. Care for led light my dad gave for 29 gal it didn't help plants and it has problems working right at times